Colorado VMA

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Roehr
Dr. Keith A. Roehr
Dr. Holt
Dr. Timothy N. Holt
Dr. Cole
Dr. Patricia Cole
Dr. Ahola
Dr. Sara Ahola


Michael Hernandez
Marion Weston
Dr. Fredregill
Dr. William “Bill” Fredregill
Diane Balkin, JD


Dr. Vincent
Dr. Norman Vincent
Dr. Hellyer
Dr. Peter Hellyer

Event: Annual meeting, Sept. 19-22, Loveland
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Keith A. Roehr, Broomfield. A 1981 graduate of Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Roehr is Colorado state veterinarian. During his career with the Colorado Department of Agriculture’s Division of Animal Industry, he has helped administer the Pet Animal Care Facilities Act program and supervised the Bureau of Animal Protection. Dr. Roehr is president of the National Assembly of State Animal Health Officials, a past president of the Colorado Pet Overpopulation Authority and Western States Livestock Health Association, and a past chair of the United States Animal Health Association Committee on Animal Emergency Management. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Timothy N. Holt, Fort Collins, for outstanding service in the advancement of veterinary medicine over an extended period of time in Colorado in any or all aspects of the profession. A 1988 graduate of the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. Holt is assistant professor of livestock medicine and surgery in the Department of Clinical Sciences at the college. Earlier in his career, he worked for the CSU Veterinary Extension, where he helped develop and refine a testing method for rapid identification of cattle with pulmonary arterial hypertension leading to high-mountain disease. Dr. Holt has helped bring complementary care to rural Colorado. Outstanding Faculty Award: Dr. Patricia Cole, Fort Collins. A 1980 graduate of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Cole serves as an associate professor in the Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Pathology at the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences. She is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists. Rising Star Award: Dr. Sara Ahola, Fort Collins. A 2008 graduate of Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. Ahola serves as trace­ability veterinarian in the state veterinarian’s office. She helps to implement the new federal animal disease traceability rule and to advance the use of electronic means to issue health certificates, trains veterinarians in methods to capture electronic ID data, and moves the profession toward more efficient ways of conducting regulatory requirements in veterinary practice. Technician of the Year: Michael Hernandez, Eaton. Hernandez is technical services director at Windsor Veterinary Clinic and serves as a clinical instructor at the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences. Early in his career, he worked at an alpaca farm, where he helped teach neonatal workshops for alpaca owners. Hernandez is known for his leadership skills, integrity, and self-discipline. Industry Partner of the Year: Marion Weston, Colorado Springs, won this award, given to a company representative considered highly valuable in providing resources to veterinarians and in supporting the association’s goals and mission. Weston is a territory manager for Merck Animal Health. Early in her career, she worked as an equine representative for Fort Dodge Animal Health. Weston was instrumental in cementing Merck’s sponsorship of the 2013 CVMA district tour, which boosted member engagement. President’s Award: Dr. William “Bill” Fredregill, Sterling, and Diane Balkin, JD, Denver. Dr. Fredregill was honored for his service in representing the association at the state legislature and the Colorado State Board of Veterinary Medicine. Owner of Veterinary Medical Clinic PC, he has testified several times on behalf of the veterinary profession at the state legislature and regularly attends open sessions of the Colorado state board. Dr. Fredregill is a past president of the CVMA and is active on the CVMA Commission on Advocacy and Outreach. Diane Balkin was honored for her many years of service as an advocate for animal welfare and her work with animal cruelty cases. A staff attorney with the Animal Legal Defense Fund Criminal Justice Program, she served as the chief deputy district attorney in the Denver district attorney’s office for 32 years. Balkin strives to educate veterinarians, law enforcement officials, students, and the public on the link between cruelty to animals and violence toward humans, and has helped change Colorado laws to facilitate the prosecutions of animal abusers. Colorado Association of Certified Veterinary Technicians Team of the Year Award: The Feline Fix in Denver, a not-for-profit feline trap/spay-neuter/release operation, won this award, given to a veterinary health care team that demonstrates exceptional teamwork. Colorado Federation of Animal Welfare Agencies Veterinary Partnership Award: Dr. Norman Vincent, Paonia, won this award, given in recognition of a veterinarian who has made a difference to homeless and abused animals by volunteering with a local animal care and control agency, animal shelter, or rescue group. A 1979 graduate of Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. Vincent owns North Fork Veterinary Clinic in Paonia. He works closely with the Delta County Citizens for Animal Welfare and Shelter, providing affordable care to the animals. Dr. Vincent offers free intake checkups and overnight boarding when needed.
Officials: Drs. Peter Hellyer, Fort Collins, president; Erin Epperly, Fowler, president-elect; Curtis Crawford, Monte Vista, secretary-treasurer; Sam Romano, Arvada, secretary-treasurer-elect; Randa MacMillan, Littleton, immediate past president; Ralph Johnson, Denver, executive director; and AVMA delegate and alternate delegate—Drs. John Rule, Steamboat Springs, and Melanie Marsden, Colorado Springs