Association of Avian Veterinarians

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Bruce Nixon
Dr. Bruce Nixon
Dr. Cheryl Greenacre

Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 3-7, Jacksonville, Fla.
Awards: Dr. T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner Award: Dr. Susan Clubb, Loxahatchee, Fla., for advancing avian medicine and surgery while providing inspiration and showing compassion. A 1978 graduate of Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Clubb owns Rainforest Clinic for Birds and Exotics. She also owns Hurricane Aviaries, a breeding facility for exotic birds and reptiles. Dr. Clubb is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (avian practice). Speaker of the Year: Dr. Michael Garner, Monroe, Wash. A 1987 graduate of Washington State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Garner is the founder of Northwest ZooPath, a consulting service that specializes in the pathology of nondomestic species. He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists. Dr. Garner was chosen as the favorite speaker from the 2012 AAV meeting. Donald W. Zantop Emerging Leader Award: Dr. Hugues Beaufrere, Guelph, Ontario, won this award, given in recognition of his substantial contributions to the AAV and to avian medicine and surgery. A 2006 graduate of the National Veterinary School of Lyon in France, Dr. Beaufrere is chief of the avian and exotic service at the University of Guelph Ontario Veterinary College Health Sciences Center. He is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (avian practice) and European College of Zoological Medicine (avian). AAV House Officer Manuscript Competition Award: Dr. Katherine Baine, Knoxville, Tenn., for “Pharmacokinetics of gabapentin in Hispaniolan Amazon parrots.” AAV Service Appreciation Award: Drs. Robert Groskin, Teaneck, N.J.; James Harris, Sandy Bay, Australia; Margaret Fordham, Oakhurst, N.J.; and Heather Barron, Sanibel, Fla.
Officials: Drs. Bruce Nixon, College Station, Texas, president; Cheryl Greenacre, Knoxville, Tenn., president-elect; Patrick Redig, St. Paul, Minn., treasurer; and Sharman Hoppes, College Station, Texas, immediate past president and conference chair