American College of Theriogenologists

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Chenoweth
Dr. Peter Chenoweth
Dr. Althouse
Dr. Gary Althouse

Event: Annual Conference, Aug. 7-10, Louisville, Ky.
Awards: Theriogenologist of the Year Award, sponsored by Zoetis: Dr. Peter Chenoweth, Wagga Wagga, Australia, for excellence in teaching and research in andrology and fertility of bulls. Dr. Chenoweth is co-author of a book on beef cow-calf production medicine and has published numerous peer-reviewed scientific articles and book chapters on his research in fertility of male livestock.
Business: The job task analysis of work activities in theriogenology resulted in responses from 196 ACT diplomates, a 47.9 percent response rate of all active diplomates. Revisions were made to the general information guide, and the Constitution and Bylaws was amended to allow electronic voting for officer positions and honorary members. In addition, members can vote on items discussed at the ACT annual business meeting for a period of 30 days after that meeting. The ACT is developing a bovine abortion reporting form and is working with the American Association of Equine Practitioners to jointly develop guidelines for equine referral ethics.
New diplomates: The college welcomed the following nine new diplomates following successful completion of the certification examination:

Julie Cecere, Blacksburg, Va.
Elizabeth Coffman, Columbus, Ohio
A. Jacques Fuselier, Baton Rouge, La.
Klibs Galvao, Gainesville, Fla.
Jennifer Noelle Hatzel, Fort Collins, Colo.
Renee Jaklitsch, Starkville, Miss.
Catherine May, Onderstepoort, Republic of South Africa
Martha Mellish, Kents Store, Va.
Peter D. Morrow, Mondovi, Wis.

Officials: Drs. Gary Althouse, New London, Pa., president; Barry Ball, Lexington, Ky., president-elect; Sara Lyle, Baton Rouge, La., vice president; Bruce Eilts, Townsville, Australia, treasurer; Reed Holyoak, Stillwater, Okla., secretary; and Claire Card, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, immediate past president. Dr. Juan Samper, Langley, British Columbia, was elected to the board of directors.