Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

U.S. Public Health Service

Dr. Shibukawa-Kent
Dr. Renee L. Shibukawa-Kent
Dr. McCollum
Dr. Jeff McCollum
Dr. Altekruse
Dr. Sean F. Altekruse


Dr. Gill
Dr. Jaspreet K. Gill
Dr. Quisenberry
Dr. Carey B. Quisenberry

The U.S. Public Health Service gave three awards in June during the 2013 Public Health Service Veterinary Category’s All Hands Meeting in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Jeff McCollum, a USPHS lieutenant commander who works for the Department of Defense Armed Forces Health Surveillance Center in Silver Spring, Md., received the 2012 Commissioned Corps Junior Veterinarian Officer of the Year Award. As a deputy division director and head of febrile and vector-borne infections surveillance in the surveillance center’s Global Emerging Infections Surveillance and Response Division, he oversees, evaluates, and prioritizes surveillance and research initiatives and manages more than 60 projects in 30 countries. Among them is a planned Plasmodium falciparum malaria drug resistance clinical trial in Asia, Africa, and South America.

Dr. McCollum also is the GEIS liaison to the U.S. Pacific Command in Honolulu and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine.

Dr. Sean F. Altekruse, a captain in the Commissioned Corps and senior epidemiologist for the National Cancer Institute of the National Institutes of Health, received the Rear Admiral James H. Steele One Health Outstanding PHS Veterinary Career Award for contributions in veterinary public health and one health. He has contributed to cancer surveillance research through published studies on liver, childhood, and cervical cancer; initiated collaborative cancer studies; and served as an editor of the NCI’s Cancer Trends and Progress Report.

Dr. Altekruse helped implement Salmonella standards for meat and poultry when he was with the Department of Agriculture and was the Food and Drug Administration’s first liaison for foodborne diseases to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. He helped develop agreements and drafted protocols that became the CDC’s FoodNet program.

Drs. Carey B. Quisenberry, Jaspreet K. Gill, and Renee L. Shibukawa-Kent jointly received the 2012 Commissioned Corps Veterinary Responder of the Year Award for delivering exceptional veterinary care in one of the world’s most challenging operating environments.

All are lieutenant commanders for the corps and members of a team that supported U.S. Coast Guard deployments in the North Slope Borough of Alaska. In those remote villages, they promoted public health by spaying and neutering pets; vaccinating 526 pets against rabies; and educating people about rabies, dog bite prevention, and parasite control.

Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame

Dr. Nave
Dr. James E. Nave

Dr. James E. Nave joined legendary fighters Mike Tyson, Oscar De La Hoya, and Sugar Ray Leonard in the inaugural class of 19 inductees into the Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame Aug. 10. The Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame honors boxers and those associated with the sport who have contributed to the advancement of boxing in Nevada.

In addition to owning several practices in the Las Vegas area, Dr. Nave was a state boxing commissioner from 1988-1999 and an advocate for fighter health and safety. The inaugural class was broken into eight categories. Dr. Nave was one of two inductees in the Executives category.

The former AVMA president and Executive Board chair most recently served as the AVMA director of international veterinary affairs. He was also North American councilor to the World Veterinary Association.