Assemblies: Alabama VMA

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Goodman
Dr. Jack D. Goodman
Dr. Boosinger
Dr. Timothy Boosinger
Dr. Hendrix
Dr. Charles M. Hendrix


Dr. Bledsoe
Dr. William G. Bledsoe
Dr. Hammons
Dr. John Hammons

Event: Annual meeting, June 26-30, Sandestin, Fla.
Awards: Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Jack D. Goodman, Athens, for exceptional achievements in and contributions to the advancement of the veterinary profession. Dr. Goodman received his DVM degree from Auburn University in 1961 and earned his masters in large animal medicine and surgery, also from Auburn University, in 1985. He owns Athens Animal Hospital, a mixed animal practice. Dr. Goodman is a past president of the Alabama VMA and has served on the board of directors of the Alabama Academy of Veterinary Practice, Alabama Stock Dog Association, and Alabama Veterinary Medical Foundation. During his career, he has also taught in the Large Animal Clinic at Auburn University. Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Timothy Boosinger, Auburn. A 1976 graduate of the Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Boosinger has served as provost and vice president of academic affairs at Auburn University since 2012. Prior to that, he was dean of the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Boosinger earned his doctorate in pathology from Purdue University in 1983 and is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists. He served as president of the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges from 2007-2008. Special Award: Dr. Charles M. Hendrix, Auburn, for extraordinary achievements. A 1974 graduate of the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Hendrix is a professor of parasitology at Auburn University. Earlier in his career, he served as a captain in the Army Veterinary Corps and was a veterinary medical associate at the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, where he obtained his masters and earned his doctorate, both in veterinary parasitology, in 1978 and 1981, respectively. Dr. Hendrix is a past vice president of the AVMA.
Officials: Drs. William G. Bledsoe, Camden, president; John Hammons, Athens, president-elect; T.C. Branch, Birmingham, vice president; H. Winston Pirtle Sr., Montgomery, treasurer; and William M. Allen, Gardendale, immediate past president