Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

American Association of Swine Veterinarians

Dr. Kerkaert
Dr. Barry R. Kerkaert
Dr. Rowles
Dr. Craig J. Rowles
Dr. Zimmerman
Dr. Jeffrey J. Zimmerman


Dr. Stricker
Dr. Amber Stricker
Dr. Thacker
Dr. Brad Thacker

Five veterinarians received awards March 4 at the annual meeting of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians. The recipients were as follows: Swine Practitioner of the Year Award: Dr. Barry R. Kerkaert, Pipestone, Minn., who has lectured, visited, or consulted on farms in and beyond the U.S.; Meritorious Service Award: Dr. Craig J. Rowles, Carroll, Iowa, who has represented the AASV, helped students and staff at Iowa State University, and made his farm available to press, regulators, and foreign visitors; Howard Dunne Memorial Award: Dr. Jeffrey J. Zimmerman, Ames, Iowa, a researcher, mentor, and author who has served on professional, academic, and industrial committees; Young Swine Veterinarian of the Year Award: Dr. Amber Stricker, Albert Lea, Minn., who is a partner in a seven-veterinarian practice and member of the Minnesota Pork Board research committee; and Technical Services/Allied Industry Veterinarian of the Year Award: Dr. Brad Thacker, DeSoto, Kan., who is an author, conference speaker, mentor, and farm employee educator.