Veterinary Dental Forum

Published on March 20, 2013
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Mitchell
Dr. Paul Mitchell
Dr. Smithson
Dr. Christopher Smithson
Dr. Capron
Dr. Ken Capron


Dr. Lewis
Dr. John Lewis
Dr. Beckman
Dr. Brett Beckman
Dr. Sitzman
Dr. Clarence Sitzman


Dr. Bellows
Dr. Jan Bellows
Dr. Niemiec
Dr. Brook Niemiec

Event: 26th annual forum, Nov. 8-11, 2012, Seattle
Program: The forum, co-sponsored by the Academy of Veterinary Dentistry, the American Veterinary Dental College, and the American Veterinary Dental Society, attracted more than 1,000 participants. The specialist-in-training module focused on dental radiography. Also offered were lectures, briefs, and laboratories for veterinary dental clinicians and technicians. Gary Glassman, DDS, Toronto, spoke on endodontic therapy. The forum also served as the venue for the annual meetings of the Foundation for Veterinary Dentistry and the Academy of Veterinary Dental Technicians, which recognized newly certified technicians.

American Veterinary Dental College

Awards: AVDC Peter Emily Service Award, sponsored by Virbac Animal Health: Dr. Paul Mitchell, North Attleboro, Mass., for outstanding contributions made to further the field of veterinary dentistry. A 1991 graduate of the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Mitchell serves as a senior veterinarian with the Pfizer Animal Health Veterinary Specialty Team. He is a diplomate and president-elect of the AVDC. AVDC Robert Wiggs Outstanding Candidate Award, sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health: Dr. Boaz Arzi, Davis, Calif. A 2002 graduate of the Szent Istvan University Faculty of Veterinary Science in Hungary, Dr. Arzi is a project scientist and a staff veterinarian in dentistry and oral surgery at the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Arzi is a diplomate of the AVDC. Journal of Veterinary Dentistry Debra Smith Award: Dr. Christopher Smithson, Tampa, Fla., was the first recipient of this award, given for the best article authored by a resident. A 2002 graduate of the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Smithson works at Tampa Bay Veterinary Specialists.
New diplomates: Eight new diplomates were welcomed into the AVDC. They are as follows:

Boaz Arzi, Davis, Calif.
Sarah Bonner, Walnut Creek, Calif.
Susan Crowder, Lenexa, Kan.
Wade Gingerich, Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
Robert Menzies, Philadelphia
Debra Nossaman, South Lake, Texas
Santiago Peralta, Ithaca, N.Y.
Carlos Rice, Philadelphia

Academy of Veterinary Dentistry

Awards: AVD Fellow-of-the-Year Award, sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health: Dr. Ken Capron, Tulsa, Okla. A 1965 graduate of the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Capron owns and serves as director of Capron Veterinary Hospital & Dental Clinic For Pets in Tulsa. He is a past president of the AVDS, a diplomate and a past president of the AVDC, and a fellow and president-elect of the AVD. Dr. Capron founded the National Pet Dental Health Month, co-sponsored by Hill’s Pet Nutrition. AVD Dentistry Research Grant: Dr. Santiago Peralta, Cornell University, for “Feline buccal bone expansion—Clinicopathological assessment of potential underlying pathogenic mechanisms.” AVD Fellows: Drs. Lorraine Hiscox, Oakville, Ontario, and Caroline Niederman, Houston

American Veterinary Dental Society

Awards: AVDS–Hill’s Education and Research Award, sponsored by Hill’s Pet Nutrition Inc.: Dr. John Lewis, Philadelphia, for contributions in the area of veterinary dentistry and for helping to achieve the AVDS mission of a global society for the advancement of veterinary dental knowledge. A 1997 graduate of the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Lewis is chief of the Section of Surgery, Dentistry and Anesthesiology at the University of Pennsylvania. He is a diplomate of the AVDC, a fellow of the AVD, and the immediate past president of the AVDS.

Academy of Veterinary Dental Technicians

The AVDT welcomed newly certified members Nicole Anderson of Menomonie, Wis.; Eliza Krauter of Lakeville, Minn.; and Tammi Smith of Port St. Lucie, Fla.

Foundation for Veterinary Dentistry

Awards: Miltex Golden Scaler Award, for outstanding contributions to veterinary dentistry: Dr. Brett Beckman, Punta Gorda, Fla. A 1985 graduate of the Mississippi State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Beckman is chief of dental services at Florida Veterinary Dentistry and Oral Surgery of Orlando and Punta Gorda, he is also seeing patients in Atlanta. He is a diplomate of the AVDC and American Academy of Pain Management, a fellow of the AVD, and a past president of the AVDS.

Peter Emily International Veterinary Dental Foundation

Awards: Service Award: Dr. Clarence Sitzman, Colorado Springs, Colo., for outstanding contributions in the field of veterinary dentistry with relation to captive animals and wildlife.
Officials: American Veterinary Dental College—Dr. Jan Bellows, Weston, Fla., president; Academy of Veterinary Dentistry—Dr. Brook Niemiec, San Diego, president; American Veterinary Dental Society—Dr. Kevin Stepaniuk, St. Paul, Minn., president; Academy of Veterinary Dental Technicians—Susan A. Berrhill, Branson, Mo., president; Foundation for Veterinary Dentistry—Dr. William Scott, Madison, Miss., chair