Missouri VMA

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Thorne
Dr. James G. Thorne
Dr. Payne
Dr. Craig A. Payne
Dr. Prigel
Dr. David A. Prigel


Dr. Schuessler
Dr. James K. Schuessler

Event: 121st annual convention, Jan. 18-20, Kansas City
Program: The convention, which offered 60 continuing education lectures, drew more than 600 attendees.
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. James G. Thorne, Columbia. Dr. Thorne earned his DVM degree in 1961 from the University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicine and obtained his doctorate in physiology from the University of Georgia in 1978. He serves as an associate professor and clinical epidemiologist in the Department of Veterinary Microbiology at the MU-CVM. Dr. Thorne is a diplomate and a past president of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners. President’s Award: Richard Antweiler, Jefferson City. Antweiler has served as executive director of the association for 13 years, assisting members with professional education, legislative issues, and public relations initiatives to enhance the quality of veterinary medicine in the state. He is the secretary-treasurer of the Missouri Academy of Veterinary Practitioners and a past president of the American Society of Veterinary Medical Association Executives. Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation Distinguished Service Award: Dr. George Buckaloo, Independence, for helping expand the foundation’s mission of public education and charitable giving to worthy organizations. A 1972 graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Buckaloo is the director of the MU-CVM’s Mizzou Animal Cancer Care Facility in Wentzville. Earlier in his career, he owned Crysler Animal Hospital in Independence for 30 years. Honorary Membership Award of the Missouri Academy of Veterinary Practice: Dr. John R. Dodam, Columbia, won this award, given for distinguished or meritorious service to the veterinary profession. A 1985 graduate of The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Dodam serves as department chair and associate professor of anesthesiology at the MU-CVM. He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Anesthesiologists.
Officials: MVMA—Dr. Craig A. Payne, Columbia, president; Dr. David A. Prigel, Republic, president-elect; Dr. Charles L. Barry, Warrensburg, vice president; Dr. Shelia L. Taylor, Springfield, secretary-treasurer; Dr. James K. Schuessler, Kirkwood, Executive Board chair/immediate past president; and Richard D. Antweiler, Jefferson City, executive director. Missouri Academy of Veterinary Practice—Dr. Thomas Blumhorst, Marshall, president; Dr. Ronald Brown, Appleton City, president-elect; Dr. George Fischer, Amity, vice president; and Richard Antweiler, Jefferson City, executive secretary/treasurer. Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation—Dr. William J. Shore, St. Louis, board chair; Dr. Phillip R. Brown, Springfield, board vice chair; Ann White, Perryville, secretary-treasurer; and Dr. Roger Dozier, Jefferson City, museum director