Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care International

Dr. Harry Rozmiarek
Dr. Harry Rozmiarek

Recently, Dr. Harry Rozmiarek received the highest honor of the Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care International. The Bennett J. Cohen Award recognizes his exceptional service and important contributions to AAALAC International and his commitment to promoting the highest standards of laboratory animal use in research, testing, and education.

Currently, he serves as professor emeritus and director of the University of Pennsylvania and Fox Chase Cancer Center.

Dr. Rozmiarek began as an ad hoc consultant to AAALAC in 1971, then served on the Council on Accreditation from 1979-1988. For more than a decade, he served on AAALAC’s board of trustees in positions that included chair.

Dr. Rozmiarek joined the University of Pennsylvania in 1987 as professor of laboratory animal medicine and director of university laboratory animal resources, later serving as university veterinarian and associate director of the Office of Regulatory Affairs and director of postdoctoral residency training for veterinarians in laboratory animal medicine.

His contributions to the wider laboratory animal science community have included his presidencies of the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science, the American Society of Laboratory Animal Practitioners, and the American College of Labora­tory Animal Medicine. In 2003, Dr. Rozmiarek was appointed by the National Research Council’s Institute for Laboratory Animal Research to represent the U.S. on the International Council for Lab­oratory Animal Science. He continues in that position. In addition, he was elected to the ICLAS Governing Board in 2007 and has been ICLAS secretary-general since 2011. Currently, he is a member of the Scientific Consultants Group for Malaria Research of the Agency for International Development and represents the U.S. on ICLAS.

Dr. Rozmiarek has published extensively in the fields of immunology, toxicology, virology and infectious disease, and laboratory animal management and husbandry.

American Embryo Transfer Association

Dr. Lindell
Dr. Kevin Lindell
Dr. Pugh
Dr. Michael Pugh

Event: Annual meeting, Sept. 12, 2012, Winnipeg, Alberta
Program: The conference, held in conjunction with the Canadian Embryo Transfer Association, offered lectures and laboratory workshops on techniques for embryo transfer and a section on evaluating in vitro–fertilized embryos and the best techniques for handling them after shipment and for thawing them prior to transfer into recipients. Also offered were lectures on advances in semen technology, genomics, bovine viral diarrhea virus, and donor and recipient nutrition.
Awards: Joseph Lineweaver, PhD, Radford, Va., was awarded permanent emeritus membership.
Business: In 2012, the AETA adopted an official position regarding embryo transfer and the practice of veterinary medicine. The new position statement reads: “The American Embryo Transfer Association considers embryo transfer procedures to be the practice of veterinary medicine. Embryo transfer necessitates the use of prescription pharmaceuticals within a valid veterinarian-client-patient relationship. The AETA code of ethics obligates its membership to be in compliance with the veterinary practice acts of the states in which they practice.”
Officials: Drs. Kevin Lindell, South Woodstock, Conn., president; Michael Pugh, Waverly, Iowa, vice president; Jon Schmitt, Sioux Center, Iowa, secretary-treasurer; Glenn Engelland, Salina, Kan., immediate past president; and directors—Drs. Bethany Funnell, Grand Rapids, Minn.; Richard S. Castleberry, Castroville, Texas; Allen Rushmer, Leola, Pa.; Robert Stout, Coshocton, Ohio; and Chris Keim, Whitewater, Wis.