United States Animal Health Association

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Ragan
Dr. John R. Ragan
Dr. Hoenig
Dr. Don Hoenig
David Meeker, PhD
David Meeker, PhD


Dr. Crawford
Dr. Stephen Crawford

Event: 116th annual meeting, Oct. 18-24, 2012, Greensboro, N.C.
Awards: USAHA Medal of Distinction: Dr. John R. Ragan, Bowie, Md.. for outstanding leadership, exemplary service, and contributions to the advancement of the association. A 1966 graduate of the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Ragan served as Tennessee state veterinarian from 1971-1997. He then joined the Department of Agriculture, working for the Food Safety and Inspection Service and the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service prior to retirement. Dr. Ragan is a past president of the USAHA. USAHA Federal Partnership Award: Dr. Donald Otto, Knoxville, Iowa, won this award, given to a federal employee for commendable service toward the betterment of animal health in the United States. A 1971 graduate of the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Otto is a field veterinarian with the Department of Agriculture. During his career with the department, he has served on several animal health and disease task forces, and he is experienced in emergency response to animal disease outbreaks. APHIS Administrator’s Award: Dr. Don Hoenig, Belfast, Maine. A 1978 graduate of the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Hoenig recently retired as Maine state veterinarian. He is a past president of the USAHA, has chaired the Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Animal Health, and serves as an American Association for the Advancement of Science science and technology fellow in Washington, D.C. National Assembly Award: Dr. Jim Logan, Cheyenne, Wyo., for his tireless efforts and contributions to animal health. A 1975 graduate of the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Logan is Wyoming state veterinarian. He is known for his expertise in brucellosis issues and his leadership role in the sheep industry.
Business: The USAHA approved 23 resolutions that seek actions by the Department of Agriculture, Congress, the Department of Homeland Security, the Department of the Interior, and state animal health regulators (see JAVMA, Jan. 1, 2013, page 18).
Officials: David Meeker, PhD, Alexandria, Va., president; Dr. Stephen Crawford, Concord, N.H., president-elect; Dr. Bruce King, Salt Lake City, 1st vice president; Dr. David Schmitt, Des Moines, Iowa, 2nd vice president; Dr. Boyd Parr, Columbia, S.C., 3rd vice president; Dr. Annette Jones, Sacramento, Calif., treasurer; and Dr. David Marshall, Raleigh, N.C., immediate past president