Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Iowa State University

Dr. Heath
Dr. Bruce Heath
Dr. Lage
Dr. Arthur Lage
Dr. Leary
Dr. Steven Leary


Dr. Schultz
Dr. Roy Schultz

Four alumni of the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine were honored the last weekend of October.

Dr. Robert Bruce Heath (ISU ’62) of Ft. Collins, Colo., received the Stange Award for Meritorious Service. He was an early pioneer in the field of veterinary anesthesiology. Dr. Heath’s fieldwork on wild and captive marine mammals in the North Pacific Ocean and in South America has made substantial contributions to the conservation of several species.

He was a founding fellow of the American College of Veterinary Anesthesiologists. While at The Ohio State University, he built the second-largest animal anesthesia machine to be used in the United States. At Colorado State University, he was the first to evaluate safe positioning of, and appropriate padding for, large animal patients requiring prolonged anesthesia.

Dr. Arthur Lage (ISU ’67) of Boston was also given the Stange Award for Meritorious Service. He is director of the Harvard University Center for Comparative Medicine. Dr. Lage implemented the one-medicine approach at the Harvard Medical School’s Center for Minimally Invasive Surgery, where he served as director for 10 years. Working together to share their expertise, veterinarians, physicians, and other scientists have adapted devices and techniques for a variety of surgical applications, especially in the area of pediatric medicine.

Within the field of veterinary medicine, Dr. Lage is an international expert in renal physiology. He is a diplomate, past president, and chairman of the board of regents of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine.

Dr. Steven Leary (ISU ’71) of St. Louis also accepted the Stange Award for Meritorious Service. He is recognized internationally for his expertise in long-term planning for institutional research animal care and use programs as well as his approach to laboratory animal housing facility planning and design. As the assistant vice chancellor for veterinary affairs at Washington University in St. Louis, Dr. Leary directs one of the largest, most species-diverse, research programs in the country.

For the AVMA, Dr. Leary served as chair of the Animal Welfare Committee and the 2011 Panel on Euthanasia and is currently chair of the Panel on Humane Slaughter. He worked with the National Association for Biomedical Research and Congress on the development and passage of a law that places criminal penalties on animal rights extremist activities that target researchers.

Dr. Leary is an emeritus member of the Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care International and a past president and diplomate of the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine.

Dr. Roy Schultz (ISU ’60) of Avoca, Iowa, was given the William P. Switzer Award in Veterinary Medicine. He is a recognized authority on Actinobacillus pleuropneumoniae infection in growing swine. His cultivation and characterization of the organism and his efforts in diagnostic testing improvements have led to the prevention and control of actinobacillosis.

A charter member of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians, Dr. Schultz has also served as its president. Now retired, he continues his efforts as a conservationist. He is the co-founder of the Foundation for North American Wild Sheep, a nonprofit conservation organization.