World Congress of Veterinary Dermatology

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Halliwell
Dr. Richard Halliwell

Event: 7th Congress, July 24-28, Vancouver, British Columbia
Program: The Congress, organized by the World Association for Veterinary Dermatology, of which the American College of Veterinary Dermatology and American Academy of Veterinary Dermatology are founding members, attracted more than 1,600 attendees, including veterinarians, dermatologists, pathologists, and scientists. Congress delegates, representing more than 50 countries, were offered continuing education in dermatology on the six major themes of allergy, immunology, skin biology, therapy, infectious disease, and oncology, in the form of lectures, presentations, workshops, laboratories, and forums. Also on offer were two-day sessions focusing on equine and feline dermatology and a one-day exotic animal program. The congress showcased original scientific research with communication and poster presentations. President of the Congress, Dr. Manon Paradis, and president of the WAVD, Dr. Didier Carlotti, presided over the opening ceremony.

Some WCVD executive organizing committee members: Drs. Alan Hoey, Stephen White, Richard Halliwell, Sheila Torres, Manon Paradis, Douglas DeBoer, Chiara Noli, Rusty Muse, Vincent Defalque, and Rosario Cerundolo

Awards: Hugo Schindelka Award: Dr. Richard Halliwell, Edinburgh, Scotland, for excellence in lifetime scholarship and publication in the field of veterinary dermatology. Dr. Halliwell, who earned his veterinary degree and doctorate in immunology from the University of Cambridge in 1961 and 1973, respectively, is past dean of faculty and professor emeritus at the University of Edinburgh Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies. Early in his career, he taught at the University of Pennsylvania and at the University of Florida, where he was professor and chair of the Department of Medical Sciences. Dr. Halliwell returned to the United Kingdom in 1988 as William Dick Professor of Veterinary Clinical Studies at the University of Edinburgh. He is a past president of the American and European colleges of veterinary dermatology, Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons, and World Association for Veterinary Dermatology.
Executive organizing committee: Drs. Manon Paradis, Saint Hyacinthe, Quebec, president; Stephen White, Davis, Calif., secretary; Rosario Cerundolo, Suffolk, United Kingdom, treasurer; Douglas DeBoer, Madison, Wis., fundraising committee; Alan Hoey, Victoria, British Columbia, local organizing committee; Vincent Defalque, Vancouver, British Columbia, local organizing committee; Chiara Noli, Peveragno, Italy, program committee; Rusty Muse, Tustin, Calif., publicity committee; Sheila Torres, St. Paul, Minn., publications committee; Richard Halliwell, Edinburgh, Scotland, WAVD representative-United Kingdom; and Masahiko Nagata, Tokyo, WAVD representative-Asia