American Academy of Veterinary Nutrition

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Emmelie Stock

Event: 12th annual clinical nutrition and research symposium, May 30, New Orleans
Program: The conference featured oral abstracts and poster presentations on nutrition research conducted nationally and internationally. They are published in the Journal of Animal Physiology and Animal Nutrition. The keynote speaker, Dr. Christopher Morrison of the Pennington Biomedical Research Center in Louisiana, gave a presentation titled “Neurobiology of energy and protein intake: implications for obesity and metabolism.”
Awards: AAVN Research Grant, sponsored by Waltham: Dr. Robert Backus, Columbia, Mo. A 1987 graduate of the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Backus serves as an associate teaching professor and directs the Nestle-Purina Endowed Small Animal Nutrition Program at the University of Missouri-Columbia. He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Nutrition. AAVN Student/Resident Research Award, sponsored by Waltham: Dr. Amy Farcas, Davis, Calif. A 2008 graduate of the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Farcas recently completed her nutrition residency at UC-Davis and became a diplomate of the ACVN. Student Case Report Award: Emmelie Stock, Gavere, Belgium. Stock is a third-year veterinary student at Ghent University in Belgium.
Business: Important initiatives for 2012-2013 include modifying the organization’s constitution, initiating a presence on social media networks for improved membership communication, promoting a new case report contest for veterinary students, improving communication and interaction with the European Society of Veterinary and Comparative Nutrition, and supporting and encouraging member speaker participation at the Student AVMA Symposium, North American Veterinary Conference, and other large veterinary conferences.
Officials: Drs. Shannon Pratt-Phillips, Raleigh, N.C., president; Samantha Shields, Grand Cayman, British West Indies, vice president; Sarah K. Abood, East Lansing, Mich., treasurer; Amanda Ardente, Gainesville, Fla., secretary; Joe Wakshlag, Ithaca, N.Y., immediate past president; Wilbur Amand, West Chester, Pa., executive director; and members-at-large—Drs. Janine Oliver, Greensboro, N.C., and Patrick Nguyen, Nantes Cedex, France.