World Equine Veterinary Association

Published on April 18, 2012
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Brooks Dr. Blikslager Dr. Knottenbelt Dr. LeBlanc Dr. Reddy
Dr. Dennis Brooks Dr. Anthony Blikslager Dr. Derek Knottenbelt Dr. Michelle LeBlanc Dr. Ravi Reddy
Dr. Greet Dr. Hodgson Dr. Couroucé-Malblanc Dr. Gerber Dr. Norwood
Dr. Tim Greet Dr. David Hodgson Dr. Anne Couroucé-
Dr. Vinzenz Gerber Dr. Gary L. Norwood

Event: 12th Congress, Nov. 2-5, 2011, Hyderabad, India, hosted by the Indian Association of Equine Practitioners
Program: A cadre of international speakers presented talks on a variety of topics, including reproduction, locomotor abnormalities, neurology, ophthalmology, cardiology, and respiratory and muscular diseases. The congress drew more than 500 attendees from many countries. Local veterinarians were encouraged to attend by being afforded an attractive local registration fee. Princess Haya Bint Al Hussein of Jordan opened the congress and stressed the importance of equine welfare from her perspective as a horse owner, Olympic competitor, and president of the Federation Equestre Internationale. The keynote speaker was Dr. Dennis Brooks, a professor of veterinary ophthalmology at the University of Florida. Dr. Jean-Marie Denoix of France worked with a local horse in a packed auditorium to demonstrate advanced ultrasound techniques for the musculoskeletal system (see article). Dr. Conny Herholz of Switzerland lectured in news-hour format on international diseases and related issues. Key equine welfare organizations participated in WEVA's first equine welfare session at a biennial congress. Two other new programs were offered, one for equine/small animal veterinarians and another for horse owners, breeders, and trainers.
Awards: 2011 Merial Applied Equine Research Award: Dr. Anthony Blikslager, North Carolina State University, for outstanding research conducted in a specific field of applied equine science over the preceding five years. The 2011 award honored advances in pain management of horses. Dr. Blikslager was cited for his distinguished career as a world-class researcher who has conducted seminal studies on colic with a focus on pain control. WEVA/Merck Animal Health Welfare Award: The award was presented for the first time, to Dr. Derek Knottenbelt, University of Liverpool, England, whose distinguished career working with organizations such as SPANA, an animal welfare charity advocating for working animals, has contributed to equine welfare worldwide. 2011 WEVA Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Michelle LeBlanc was honored in absentia for her outstanding contributions to equine theriogenology over nearly three decades. Dr. LeBlanc received the award during the American Association of Equine Practitioners' Annual Convention this past November in San Antonio. This was only the second time this award has been conferred. Dr. LeBlanc worked at the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine for 22 years. She is currently on staff at Rood & Riddle Equine Hospital in Lexington, Ky., and does consulting in Florida. WEVA Cup: The chestnut colt Pedalo won the race at Hyderabad Turf Club, and Princess Haya presented the award to his owner. The Hyderabad Jockey Club and a leading owner of horse breeding farms in India were major sponsors of the WEVA Congress and dedicated the race in WEVA's name.
Business: Hungary was selected as host association for the 2013 WEVA Congress, which will be held Oct. 3-5 in Budapest.
Officials: Executive Committee officers, serving from 2011-2013, are Drs. Ravi Reddy, Pune, India, president; Tim Greet, United Kingdom, senior vice president; David Hodgson, United States, junior vice president; Anne Couroucé-Malblanc, France, secretary; and Vinzenz Gerber, Switzerland, treasurer and program chair for the Hyderabad congress. Other U.S. veterinarians involved in WEVA leadership are Dr. Harry Werner, Executive Committee member; and WEVA past presidents, Drs. Warwick Bayly and Gary L. Norwood, President's Advisory Committee.