Western conference again a strong draw

Published on April 01, 2012
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

The 84th annual Western Veterinary Conference, Feb. 19-23 in Las Vegas, drew nearly 15,000 attendees. 

The registration included almost 6,500 veterinarians, about 2,000 veterinary technicians and practice managers, and other attendees with connections to animal health. 

The 2012 conference featured hundreds of hours of continuing education for veterinarians and a separate agenda for veterinary technicians and practice managers. Highlights of the program included symposia, interactive labs, workshops, and lunch-and-learn sessions.

Members of the 2012-2013 Western Veterinary Conference board of directors: Front row—Drs. Joe M. Howell, director; George Dyck, vice president; James E. Creed, immediate past president; Dennis McCurnin, president; John G. Kirkpatrick, director; and Jack O. Walther, Clinical Proficiency Examination coordinator. Back row—Dr. Clayton MacKay, director; Dr. James Peddie, secretary-treasurer; Dr. Brad White, director; Dr. Randall G. Ezell, president-elect; E. David Stearns, veterinary technician director; Dr. W. Mark Hilton, director; Dr. Jon R. Pennell, director; and Dr. Robert Linford, director. (Not pictured—Dr. James E. Nave, parliamentarian.)

During the conference, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine and Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences announced a partnership with Pfizer Animal Health to develop an online CE program for veterinarians.

The WVC awarded $1,000 scholarships to one veterinary student from each of the 33 U.S. and Canadian veterinary colleges and one scholarship to a veterinary technician student.

Five veterinary postgraduates received Food Animal Incentive Awards for dedication to food animal practice. They are Drs. David Amrine, Kansas State University; Amanda Hartnack, The Ohio State University; Bradley Heins, University of Georgia; Jessica L. Gordon, University of Guelph; and Sarah Giebel, Washington State University.

Dr. Dick Shawley, Stillwater, Okla.; Vicki Olsen, Pahrump, Nev.; and Patti Davis, Walsenburg, Colo., received the WVC Special Recognition Award for leadership, service, and assistance to the WVC.

The 2011 Continuing Educators of the Year also received recognition. They are Dr. Teresa Lightfoot, Tampa, Fla., Avian and Exotics; Dr. James T. Blackford, Knoxville, Tenn., Equine; Dr. Geoffrey W. Smith, Raleigh, N.C., Food Animal; Dr. Karen E. Felsted, Dallas, Practice Management; Dr. David S. Biller, Manhattan, Kan., Small Animal; and Kim Spelts, Colorado Springs, Colo., Technician.