Accreditation task force members announced

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

The AVMA created a Task Force on Foreign Veterinary School Accreditation this past August to evaluate the following issues, given the current environment projected over 10 years, and to prepare a written informational report, without prejudice, to the Executive Board:

  • The impact of foreign veterinary school accreditation on the U.S. veterinary profession, and the quality of standards for the U.S. veterinary profession.
  • The impact of not requiring certification by the Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates or the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence for graduates of AVMA Council on Education–accredited foreign schools.
  • How foreign veterinary school accreditation serves the needs and interests of the public.
  • How foreign veterinary school accreditation serves the needs and interests of AVMA members.
  • The existence of any international pressure on the AVMA COE to accredit foreign veterinary schools.
  • The logistic resources required to accredit foreign veterinary schools.

In February, the AVMA announced the task force members who had been appointed. They are as follows: Dr. James R. Coffman, Manhattan, Kan., chair; Dr. Mimi Arighi, West Lafayette, Ind.; Dr. Philippe J. Baneux, Winnetka, Ill.; Dr. Eric M. Bregman, New York; Dr. Susan B. Chadima, Topsham, Maine; Dr. Orlando Garza, El Paso, Texas; Dr. Peter W. Hellyer, Fort Collins, Colo.; Dr. Anthony M. Miele, New York; Dr. Mark Nunez, Van Nuys, Calif.; Jason Stanhill, Fort Collins, Colo.; and Dr. Caroline J. Zeiss, New Haven, Conn.