Veterinary Dental Forum

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
New AVDC diplomates
New AVDC diplomates—Drs. Donnell Hansen, Jean Battig, Barden Greenfield, and Jerome D'Astous

Event: 25th annual forum, Nov. 10-13, Boston
Program: The forum, co-sponsored by the American Veterinary Dental College, Academy of Veterinary Dentistry, and American Veterinary Dental Society, attracted more than 1,200 participants. The specialist-in-training module focused on oral surgery. Also offered were lectures and laboratories for veterinary dental technicians. The Peter Emily International Veterinary Dental Foundation presented a report on the state of the foundation. Special events included a silent auction held by the Foundation for Veterinary Dentistry and the Dental Digital Horse Race, a demonstration of the diagnostic quality of digital dental radiographs and the rapidity with which they can be obtained. The forum also served as the venue for the annual meetings of the Foundation for Veterinary Dentistry and the Academy of Veterinary Dental Technicians, which recognized newly certified technicians.

American Veterinary Dental College

Awards: AVDC Peter Emily Service Award, sponsored by Virbac Animal Health: Dr. Gary S. Goldstein, St. Paul, Minn., for outstanding contributions made to further the field of veterinary dentistry. A 1984 graduate of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Goldstein is a professor in the Veterinary Clinical Sciences Department, section chief of the veterinary dentistry and oral surgery service, and associate medical director at the University of Minnesota Veterinary Medical Center. He is a diplomate of the AVDC, a charter fellow of the AVD, and a past president of the AVDS. AVDC Robert Wiggs Outstanding Candidate Award, sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health: Dr. Stanley W. Blazejewski, Malvern, Pa. A 1980 graduate of the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Blazejewski works at the Veterinary Referral Center in Malvern. Earlier in his career, he practiced small and exotic animal medicine in southeastern Pennsylvania for 25 years. Dr. Blazejewski is a diplomate of the AVDC.

Dr. Goldstein
Dr. Gary S. Goldstein
Dr. Blazejewski
Dr. Stanley W. Blazejewski
Dr. Visser
Dr. Chris J. Visser
Dr. Hennet
Dr. Philippe Hennet


Dr. Eisner
Dr. Ed Eisner
Dr. Manfra-Marretta
Dr. Sandra Manfra-Marretta
Dr. Bellows
Dr. Jan Bellows


New diplomates: Four new diplomates were welcomed into the AVDC. They are as follows:
Jean Battig, Portland, Ore.
Jerome D'Astous, Montreal
Barden Greenfield, Cordova, Tenn.
Donnell Hansen, Shoreview, Minn.

Academy of Veterinary Dentistry

Awards: AVD Fellow-of-the-Year Award, sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health: Dr. Chris J. Visser, Scottsdale, Ariz. A 1964 graduate of the University of Pretoria in South Africa, Dr. Visser practices at Arizona Veterinary Dental Specialists in Scottsdale. He is a diplomate of the AVDC and European Veterinary Dental College and a charter fellow of the International Academy of Veterinary Dentistry. AVD Fellows of the Academy: Drs. Ozgur Bilgic, San Antonio; Judy Force, Los Altos, Calif.; and Susan McTaggart, North Saanich, British Columbia

American Veterinary Dental Society

Awards: AVDS Education and Research Award, sponsored by Hill's Pet Nutrition Inc.: Dr. Philippe Hennet, Paris, for contributions in the area of veterinary dentistry and helping to achieve the AVDS mission of a global society for the advancement of veterinary dental knowledge. A 1988 graduate of the National Veterinary School of Toulouse in France, Dr. Hennet is a partner in a specialty referral hospital in Paris. He has served as a consultant in veterinary dentistry at the National Veterinary School of Lyon and National Veterinary School of Maisons-Alfort, both in France.

Academy of Veterinary Dental Technicians

The AVDT welcomed newly certified members Amy Edwards of Roswell, Ga.; Candice Hoerner of Kalispell, Mont.; Christina Patton of Nassau, N.Y.; and Amber Struck of Fresno, Calif.

Foundation for Veterinary Dentistry

Awards: Miltex Golden Scaler Award, for outstanding contributions to veterinary dentistry: Dr. Ed Eisner, Denver. A 1964 graduate of Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Eisner is chief of dental services at the Animal Hospital Specialty Center in Highlands Ranch, Colo. President of the Peter Emily International Veterinary Dental Foundation, he is a diplomate and a past president of the AVDC, and a past president of the AVD and Colorado Veterinary Medical Examining Board. Dr. Eisner co-authored the textbook "Veterinary Dental Techniques."

Peter Emily International Veterinary Dental Foundation

Awards: Service Award: Dr. Ed Eisner, Denver, for his invaluable volunteer activities in leadership roles and as a member of Veterinary Dentists Without Borders missions since the PEIVDF was formed

Officials: American Veterinary Dental College—Drs. Sandra Manfra-Marretta, Urbana, Ill., president; Jan Bellows, Weston, Fla., president-elect; Steve Holmstrom, San Carlos, Calif., treasurer; and Bill Gengler, Denton, Texas, immediate past president; Academy of Veterinary Dentistry—Dr. Brook Niemiec, San Diego, president; American Veterinary Dental Society—Dr. Kevin Stepaniuk, St. Paul, Minn., president; Academy of Veterinary Dental Technicians—Pat March, Annapolis, Md., president; Foundation for Veterinary Dentistry—Dr. Barden Greenfield, Cordova, Tenn., chair