Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

American Association of Equine Practitioners

Dr. Beech
Dr. Jill Beech
Dr. Corey
Dr. Douglas G. Corey
Dr. McDonnell
Sue McDonnell, PhD
Dr. Frisbie
Dr. David D. Frisbie


Dr. Foley
David L. Foley
Dr. Banse
Dr. Heidi Banse
Dr. Helms
Dr. Lindsey Helms Boone
Dr. Molby
Dr. Tanja C. Molby

The American Association of Equine Practitioners honored the 2011 recipients of several awards Nov. 21 at its 57th Annual Convention in San Antonio, Texas.

Dr. Jill Beech (UP '72) received the Distinguished Educator Award. Beginning in 1976, she served as an instructor of large animal medicine at the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine. She received the title of professor in 1993 and was named chair in medicine and equine reproduction in 2001. She retired from Penn Vet in July 2011.

Dr. Beech built a reputation for having expertise in a broad range of veterinary areas, including respiratory disease, musculoskeletal conditions, neurology, and ophthalmology. She established one of the first equine ophthalmology services and developed the school's specialty in equine neurology. She has served as an adjunct professor at the University of California-Davis, the University of Florida, and Ben Gurion University in Tel Aviv, Israel.

Dr. Douglas G. Corey (COL '76) was given the Distinguished Life Member Award for his longtime dedication to the association and efforts to preserve the welfare of horses.

Dr. Corey's numerous leadership positions within the AAEP, which he joined in 1976, include serving as chair of the Research, Public Relations, Membership, Equine Welfare, and 50th Anniversary committees. He was AAEP president in 2007.

Dr. Corey has practiced at Associated Veterinary Clinic, a mixed animal practice in Walla Walla, Wash., for 30 years. He currently serves as chair of the Unwanted Horse Coalition and is a member of the American Horse Council's Animal Welfare Committee. He has served as the chair of the AVMA Animal Welfare Committee.

Equine behavioral researcher Sue McDonnell, PhD, was honored with the George Stubbs Award. Dr. McDonnell is an adjunct professor at the University of Pennsylvania's New Bolton Center and the founding head of the Center's Equine Behavior Program. She maintains a semi-feral herd of ponies at Penn Vet for the study of equine social behavior and development in an undomesticated environment. In addition, Dr. McDonnell uses the herd as a teaching tool to provide students with the opportunity to observe the differences between free-roaming and domesticated horse behavior. Her courses play an integral role in educating veterinary students about clinical animal behavior, reproduction, and equine patient handling.

Dr. David D. Frisbie and David L. Foley were selected as the recipients of the AAEP President's Award.

Dr. Frisbie (WIS '92) serves as the chair of the Educational Programs Committee, which coordinates all of the AAEP's continuing education programs and offerings at the annual convention. He initiated the use of a comprehensive evaluation system that measures membership needs to determine the content of continuing education meetings. Dr. Frisbie is an associate professor with the Orthopaedic Research Center at Colorado State University.

Foley has been the executive director of the AAEP for more than a decade. He was honored for his long-standing service to the association and dedication to its mission. Foley manages the operations of the association. He led the charge in 2011 in responding to the needs of members, helping craft the association's latest strategic plan. He is also secretary for the American Society of Veterinary Medical Association Executives.

Drs. Heidi Banse (WSU '07) and Lindsey Helms Boone (GA '08) were presented with the inaugural 2011 EQUUS Foundation Research Fellows scholarship, which comes with $5,000 to support each researcher's endeavors in equine research.

Dr. Banse's research focuses on the molecular events underlying the development of equine metabolic syndrome. The long-term goal of her research is to identify a preventive intervention for horses with EMS on the basis of improved understanding of the pathophysiology of the condition. She is a doctoral candidate at Oklahoma State University.

Dr. Boone's research is centered on the intra-articular use of equine allogeneic bone marrow–derived mesenchymal stem cells for the treatment of acute and chronic degenerative joint disease in horses. She is working on her doctorate at the University of Georgia.

Dr. Annette McCoy (MSU '06) was named the 2011 AAEP Foundation Past Presidents' Research Fellow for her work to advance equine veterinary research. The University of Minnesota doctoral candidate received the $5,000 grant for her research on genetic risk factors for the development of osteochondrosis, a disease manifested as abnormal cartilage development at the ends of long bones in horses. This disease is common in many breeds of horses, and surgical intervention is generally required to avoid long-term adverse effects in the joint.

Dr. Tanja C. Molby (MSU '01) received the second Bayer Animal Health Legend of the Year Award. It is given to veterinary professionals who make selfless contributions to equine health. Dr. Molby is owner of Equine Veterinary Services of Leelanau in Suttons Bay, Mich. She helped create the Michigan Equine Foundation, which assists horses and their owners when they are facing economic hardship. She has designated the foundation as recipient of the $5,000 donation that accompanies the award.


The National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America awarded the Veterinary Technician of the Year Award during its annual conference Nov. 18-20, 2011, in Washington, D.C.

Joshua L. Clark of Lafayette, Ind., is a distance learning instructional technologist at Purdue University. He is a member-at-large on the NAVTA Executive Board and formerly served as vice chair on the AVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities. Clark holds a master's in education technology and a bachelor's in veterinary technology from Purdue.