Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Kentucky VMA

Dr. Arrington
Dr. Patricia K. Arrington
Dr. Prater
Dr. Philip E. Prater
Dr. Spike-Pierce
Dr. Deborah Spike-Pierce

Event: Annual meeting, Oct. 7-9, Louisville
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Patricia K. Arrington, Louisville. A 1971 graduate of Auburn University, Dr. Arrington owns Jefferson Animal Hospital and Regional Emergency Center. She is one of only 15 veterinarians in North America to be certified in veterinary family practice. Dr. Arrington promotes the One Health Initiative with a series of pet health fairs she created to increase awareness in her community about the connection between pets and people with regard to multiple health issues. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Walter W. Zent, Lexington, for dedication and service to the association and the veterinary profession. A 1963 graduate of Cornell University, Dr. Zent has been an associate with Hagyard Equine Medical Institute since 1966. He is chairman of the Maxwell Gluck Equine Research Foundation board of directors and a past president of the KVMA, Kentucky Veterinary Medical Foundation, Central Kentucky Equine Practitioners, and Society for Theriogenology.
Officials: Drs. Philip E. Prater, Morehead, president; Deborah Spike-Pierce, Lexington, president-elect; Mark Smith, Barbourville, vice president; Roberta M. Dwyer, Georgetown, secretary-treasurer, and Mike Crowley, Butler, immediate past president

Washington State VMA

Dr. Jensen
Dr. Jayne Jensen
Dr. Fidel
Dr. Janean Fidel
Mr. Ferreira
Michael Ferreira
Dr. Cannon
Dr. John Cannon

Event: 100th annual conference, Oct. 7-9, Yakima
Program: The conference drew more than 300 attendees. Continuing education sessions included those on small and large animal medicine, equine medicine, communication, and animal welfare and a section on hot topics.
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Jayne Jensen, Issaquah. A 1970 graduate of the University of Illinois, Dr. Jensen owns Tiger Mountain Veterinary Clinic. She is a past president of the WSVMA and serves on the AVMA Council on Education. Distinguished Achievement Award: Dr. William Yakely, Spokane, for his contributions to endocrinology, his work in ophthalmology, and his service in teaching. A 1967 graduate of The Ohio State University and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists, Dr. Yakely owns Animal Eye Clinic of Spokane. Earlier in his career, he owned a small animal and ophthalmology practice. WSU Faculty Member of the Year: Dr. Janean Fidel, Pullman. A 1984 graduate of the University of California-Davis, Dr. Fidel serves as an associate professor of oncology at the Washington State University College of Veterinary Medicine. She is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine and the American College of Veterinary Radiology. WSVMA Allied Industry Award: Michael Ferreira, Bellingham, for his nearly 40 years of support to veterinarians and the dairy industry in the Pacific Northwest. Ferreira is a manager at Pfizer Animal Health. WSVMA Student/Recent Graduate Award: Dr. Erin Hicks, Lakewood. A 2008 graduate of Tufts University, Dr. Hicks practices at Chambers Creek Veterinary Hospital. She is chair of the WSVMA Recent Graduate Committee and has led efforts to implement social media tools as an information resource and to enhance education. Distinguished Veterinary Staff Award: Laura Shelley, Olympia. Shelley is a veterinary technician at Steamboat Animal Hospital. She is known for her compassionate treatment of patients and their owners. WSVMA Media Award: Richard Scott, Pullman. Scott manages the Biomedical Communications Unit at the WSU College of Veterinary Medicine, leading a team of audiovisual and digital specialists. WSVMA President's Award: Greg Hanon, JD, Sumner. Hanon serves as a legislative advocate for the WSVMA. He was honored for his service and guidance to the association.
Business: Long-range planning was undertaken to address the downturn in veterinary practice visits and other economic and membership issues affecting veterinary practices, veterinary students, and recent graduates. A task force was formed to address these issues.
Officials: Drs. John Cannon, Spokane Valley, president; James McCutchan, Snohomish, president-elect; Jocelyn Woodd, Spokane, 1st vice president; Candace Joy, Issaquah, executive vice president; and Kit Wenrick, Longview, immediate past president