Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Association of Exotic Mammal Veterinarians

Dr. Mayer
Dr. Joerg Mayer

Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 8, Seattle
Program: The meeting drew 50 attendees. The president of the AEMV, Dr. Joerg Mayer, presided over the meeting.
Awards: Research Grant ($5,000): Dr. Sathya K. Chinnadurai, Raleigh, N.C., is the first recipient of this grant, for his project, "Sex differences in meloxicam pharmacokinetics in ferrets after single subcutaneous and oral administration." President's Award: Kathy Barnes, Hopkington, N.H. Barnes was recognized for her work in redesigning and maintaining the new AEMV website.
Business: The AEMV board of directors voted to create an executive director position, which was filled by Melissa Kling, immediate past secretary of the association. Kling presented members with a prototype of the newly designed logo and membership plaques that will soon be available for workplace display. Planned developments for 2012 include the creation of an association Facebook page, formation of a list of member practices offering veterinary student externship opportunities, and an enlarged AEMV presence in the Journal of Exotic Pet Medicine. The AEMV plans to join the Association of Reptile and Amphibian Veterinarians and the American Association of Zoological Veterinarians in Oakland, Calif., for their annual scientific program and conference in October 2012.
Officials: Drs. Joerg Mayer, Athens, Ga., president; Vittorio Capello, Milano, Italy, president-elect; Dan Johnson, Raleigh, N.C., treasurer; Cathy Johnson-Delaney, Kirkland, Wash., immediate past president; and Melissa Kling, Macon, Ga., executive director

Iowa VMA

Dr. Beyer
Dr. Alan Beyer
Dr. Hoffmann
Dr. James Hoffmann

Event: Annual meeting, Sept. 15-16, Ames
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Alan Beyer, West Branch. A 1975 graduate of Kansas State University, Dr. Beyer is a partner in a mixed animal practice in West Branch. He is a member of the local animal control commission and has served as county fair veterinarian for Cedar and Johnson counties for several years. Meritorious Service Award: Dr. James Hoffmann, Walnut. A 1982 graduate of Iowa State University, Dr. Hoffman practices at Avoca Veterinary Clinic in Avoca. He is serving his fifth two-year term on the IVMA Executive Board and is a member of the IVMA Legislative Committee. President's Award: James Carney, JD, Des Moines. Carney was honored for his more than 30 years of service as a lobbyist and legal counsel for the IVMA.
Business: The association is hosting the Heartland Veterinary Conference in 2012 and has challenged the other 12 participating state VMAs to compete to collect the most food for local food pantries. Within the Iowa VMA, each of the 20 districts is competing against each other in this challenge.
Officials: Drs. William J. Williams, Ames, president; Jodie Pettit, Audubon, president-elect; Hans Koehnk, Jewell, vice president; Teresa Carmichael, Oskaloosa, immediate past president; Danelle Bickett-Weddle, Ames, AVMA delegate; and Charles Lemme, Cedar Rapids, AVMA alternate delegate