Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Alabama VMA

Dr. Garrett
Dr. Fred M. Garrett Sr.
Dr. Kendrick
Dr. Frances P. Kendrick
Dr. Holland
Dr. William K. Holland
Dr. Allen
Dr. William M. Allen

Event: Annual meeting, June 2, Destin, Fla.
Awards: Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Fred M. Garrett Sr., Dothan, for his dedication to the association and his achievements and contributions to the advancement of the veterinary profession. A 1957 graduate of the University of Georgia, Dr. Garrett retired in 1996 from what was known as Garrett Veterinary Hospital in Dothan. He is a past president of the ALVMA and served on the Alabama State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners from 1988-1993. Service Award: Dr. Frances P. Kendrick, Selma, was honored for her contributions to the most recent revision of the Alabama Veterinary Practice Act while acting as chair of the Alabama VMA Small Animal Affairs Committee. A 1992 graduate of Auburn University, Dr. Kendrick owns Valley Creek Veterinary Hospital. She is president of the West Alabama VMA. Lay Person of the Year: Dana Johnston, Birmingham, for her outstanding contributions to the advancement of the veterinary profession and the association. Johnston is a police officer in Fultondale who helps educate pet owners on proper pet care. She has served as a Birmingham Animal Cruelty Investigator and trained with the National Cruelty Investigation School.
Officials: Drs. William K. Holland, Dothan, president; , William M. Allen, Gardendale, president-elect; William G. Bledsoe, Camden, vice president; John R. Hammons, Athens, member-at-large; H. Winston Pirtle Sr., Montgomery, treasurer; and Libby C. Todd, Birmingham immediate past president

California VMA

Dr. Peddie
Dr. James F. Peddie
Dr. Johnson
Dr. Richard G. Johnson
Ms. Ograin
Vicky Ograin
Dr. Weldy
Dr. Scott H. Weldy


Dr. Osburn
Dr. Bennie I. Osburn
Dr. Kerr
Dr. Jay Kerr
Dr. Cowing
Dr. Chris Cowing

Event: Annual Pacific Veterinary Conference, June 30-July 3, Anaheim
Awards: Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. James F. Peddie, Ventura, for his contributions to the veterinary community as a veterinarian, leader, mentor, and businessman. A 1965 graduate of Cornell University, Dr. Peddie was an instructor and staff veterinarian in the Exotic Animal Training and Management Program at Moorpark College and co-owned with his wife, Dr. Linda Peddie, a practice exclusively for animals in the motion picture and TV industry, prior to retirement in 2004. Earlier in his career, he was a partner at Conejo Valley Veterinary Clinic in Thousand Oaks. Dr. Peddie served as treasurer of the AVMA from 1999-2005, is a past chair of the CVMA Finance Committee, and is a past president of the Santa Barbara-Ventura VMA. California Registered Veterinary Technicians' Outstanding DVM of the Year: Dr. Richard G. Johnson, El Cajon, for his support, education, and promotion of registered veterinary technicians. A 1977 graduate of the University of California-Davis, Dr. Johnson owns Animal Medical Center of East County. He has served on the California Veterinary Medical Board's Multidisciplinary Advisory and RVT Committee. Dr. Johnson is a guest lecturer for the San Diego-Mesa College's RVT training program and donates his time as a guest surgeon in the college's wet labs. Outstanding RVT of the Year (nonprivate practice): Vicky Ograin, Topeka, Kan. Ograin is a technical information services analyst at Hill's Pet Nutrition and has co-chaired the CVMA technician session at the Pacific Veterinary Conference since 2007. She is also a member of the CVMA RVT Committee, is a past member of the CVMA RVT Task Force, and has served as an RVT representative on the CVMA House of Delegates. Meritorious Service Award: Dr. Scott H. Weldy, Lake Forest, and Jackie Hobe, Nipomo, won this award, given to those providing special attention to or promoting the human-animal bond in California. A 1985 graduate of the University of California-Davis, Dr. Weldy owns Serrano Animal and Bird Hospital. He also provides his services to the Exotic Feline Breeding Compound in Rosamond and the Orange County Bird of Prey Center and is on call with local wildlife agencies, biologists, and fish and game officials to assist with injured wildlife. An advocate for lost, abused, and homeless dogs, Hobe owns Nipomo Pet Camp. She fosters dogs while attempting to track owners, having the dogs spayed or neutered, and finding loving homes for the homeless ones. Distinguished Life Membership Award: Dr. Bennie I. Osburn, Wilton. A 1961 graduate of Kansas State University, Dr. Osburn recently retired as dean of the University of California-Davis School of Veterinary Medicine. During his tenure, there was an increase in the numbers of graduating students and residents in training, and Centers of Excellence were established in several areas, including comparative medicine, wildlife health, one health, vector borne disease, companion animal health, and food safety.
Officials: Drs. Jay Kerr, San Ramon, president; Chris Cowing, Foster City, president-elect; George Bishop, Carmel, treasurer; Dean Henricks, Carmichael, immediate past president; and Ron Kelpe, Coto de Caza, member-at-large

Utah VMA

Dr. Whiteley
Dr. John W. Whiteley
Dr. Murphy
Dr. Douglas B. Murphy

Event: Annual meeting, Vernal, June 10
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. John W. Whiteley, Salt Lake City. A 1957 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Whiteley practiced small and exotic animal medicine in Salt Lake City for more than 50 years prior to retirement. He is a past Utah state veterinarian.
Business: A major initiative at the meeting centred on the efforts to defeat H.R. 1406, the Fairness to Pet Owners Act of 2011, which would impose new stipulations on veterinary prescriptions. (It is currently with the House Energy and Commerce Committee's Subcommittee on Health.)
Officials: Drs. Douglas B. Murphy, Vernal, president; Cliff L. Mitchell, Richmond, president-elect; Carl L. Pew, Orem, treasurer; Neil E.B. Moss, Kaysville, immediate past president; and Harold J. Davis, Springville, executive secretary