Board appoints representatives to committees, councils, liaison posts

Appointees will begin serving their terms at the conclusion of the AVMA House of Delegates session this July in St. Louis. 
Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

The Executive Board named the following individuals to the entities indicated, representing the designated areas. The duration of each term varies.

Animal Welfare Committee

American Association of Feline Practitioners alternate—Dr. Paula A. Monroe, Chouteau, Okla.; American Society of Laboratory Animal Practitioners—Dr. Wendy J. Underwood, Carthage, Ind.; Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges—Dr. Patricia V. Turner, Guelph, Ontario

Aquatic Veterinary Medicine Committee

Aquaculture food animal production, private or public practice—Dr. Lester Khoo, Stoneville, Miss.; companion (ornamental) aquatic animals, private clinical practice—Dr. Jena F. Questen, Bailey, Colo.; public health—Dr. Thomas Waltzek, Davis, Calif.

AVMA Group Health and Life Insurance Trust

Members-at-large—Drs. Janet D. Donlin, Topeka, Kan.; Martha D. O'Rourke, Toms River, N.J.; Paula C. Rode, Chelsea, Mich.


Members-at-large—Drs. Andrew R. Clark, Georgetown, Ky.; Raymond C. Ebert, Pleasant Hill, Mo.

AVMAPAC Policy Board

Area 1, Eastern states—Dr. Ernest C. Godfrey, Pinellas Park, Fla.; Area 3, Western states—Dr. Travis D. McDermott, Henderson, Nev.

Clinical Practitioners Advisory Committee

American Animal Hospital Association—Dr. Thomas J. Cusick, Watertown, Mass.; AAHA alternate—Dr. Robert P. Trupp, Topeka, Kan.; American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners alternate—Dr. Jonathan W. Bergmann, Haddon Heights, N.J.; zoo and wildlife veterinarians—Dr. Kurt K. Sladky, Madison, Wis.; zoo and wildlife veterinarians alternate—Dr. Peregrine L. Wolff, Reno, Nev.

Committee on Disaster and Emergency Issues

Equine medicine—Dr. Jennifer A. Brown, Tampa, Fla.; small animal practice—Dr. Leslie E. Cole, Edmond, Okla.; Veterinary Medical Assistance Teams—Dr. Gerhardt G. Goemann, Cohasset, Minn.

Committee on Environmental Issues

Avian medicine—Dr. Patrick T. Redig, Scandia, Minn.; veterinary toxicology—Dr. Robert Poppenga, Davis, Calif.

Committee on the Human-Animal Bond

Private food animal clinical practice—Dr. Heidi A. Broyles, Marshall, Mo.

Committee on International Veterinary Affairs

Executive Board—Dr. Janver D. Krehbiel, Mason, Mich.

Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities

Faculties of colleges of veterinary medicine—Dr. Regina L.J. Brotherton, Starkville, Miss.; veterinary technicians—Judy R. Conley, Clinton, Mich.

Council on Education, Qualifications Review Committee

Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges—Dr. Deborah T. Kochevar, North Grafton, Mass.; Council on Education—Dr. Joan M. Samuels, Buellton, Calif.; Executive Board—Dr. Janver D. Krehbiel, Mason, Mich.; House of Delegates—Dr. Walter R. Threlfall, Powell, Ohio; public—Jo Ann R. Smith, Micanopy, Fla.

Food Safety Advisory Committee

American Association of Food Hygiene Veterinarians—Dr. Katherine C. Waters, St. Paul, Minn.; AAFHV alternate—Dr. Candace A. Jacobs, Ontario, Calif.; Council on Public Health and Regulatory Veterinary Medicine—Dr. Brant A. Schumaker, Laramie, Wyo.

Governance Performance Review Committee

AVMA committees—Dr. Lori M. Teller, Houston; members-at-large—Dr. Lawrence D. McGill, Salt Lake City

Legislative Advisory Committee

American Animal Hospital Association—Dr. John W. Albers, Denver; American Association of Corporate and Public Practice Veterinarians alternate—Dr. J. Edward Branam, Sacramento, Calif.; American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners—Dr. Seyedmehdi Mobini, Macon, Ga.; AASRP alternate—Dr. Kelly Still Brooks, Raeford, N.C.; House of Delegates—Dr. Walter C. Robinson III, Greenville, S.C.

Member Services Committee

Industry, exclusive—Dr. Todd L. Towell, Erie, Colo.; private clinical practice—Dr. Christina V. Tran, North Plains, Ore.; recent graduates—Dr. Kira Christian, Atlanta; nonacademic public sector veterinarians—Dr. Marianne P. Ross, College Park, Md.

State Advocacy Committee

Executive Board—Dr. V. Chip Price, Shreveport, La.; House of Delegates—Dr. James M. Weber Jr., Alexandria, Ky.; members-at-large—Dr. Angela J. Demaree, Indianapolis

Steering Committee for FDA Policy on Veterinary Oversight of Antimicrobials

Drs. Thomas B. Hairgrove, Bryan, Texas; Charles L. Hofacre, Athens, Ga.; Paul D. Ruen, Fairmont, Minn.;Joni M. Scheftel, Mayer, Minn.; Lorin D. Warnick, Ithaca, N.Y.

Liaison representatives

Alliance of Marine Mammals and Aquariums—Dr. Jena F. Questen, Bailey, Colo.; American Feed Industry Association—Dr. Karl F. Gingrich, Ashland, Ohio; Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care—Dr. K.C. Kent Lloyd, Davis, Calif.; One Health Commission—Dr. Cheryl M. Stroud, Apex, N.C.; United States Pharmacopeial Convention—Dr. Donald C. Sawyer, Okemos, Mich.; Working Group on Aquaculture Drugs, Chemicals, and Biologics—Dr. Lester Khoo, Stoneville, Miss.