Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

American Association of Swine Veterinarians

Dr. Baker
Dr. John E. Baker
Dr. Hoogland
Dr. Marlin J. Hoogland
Dr. Polson
Dr. Dale D. Polson
Dr. Vincent
Dr. Amy L. Vincent


Dr. Wilson
Dr. Warren D. Wilson

The American Association of Swine Veterinarians honored five veterinarians with awards March 7 during the AASV's 42nd annual meeting in Phoenix. And the AASV Foundation gave two veterinarians $5,000 each for continuing education and 15 veterinary students scholarships together worth $25,000.

Dr. John E. Baker (PUR '81) received the 2011 Swine Practitioner of the Year Award. He founded and owns the Warrick Veterinary Clinic in Boonville, Ind., and is the chairman of the Indiana Board of Animal Health. He has been a member of various AASV entities including the board of directors, Human Health and Safety Committee, and Operation Mainstreet Committee. Dr. Baker also produces a monthly newsletter for clients and conducts educational meetings for swine producers.

Dr. Marlin J. Hoogland (ISU '05) received the Young Veterinarian of the Year Award. He is part of a production management team for Murphy-Brown in Algona, Iowa, and a member of the company's research team. He graduated from Iowa State University in 2005, gave presentations on mortality and respiratory disease during the 2008 and 2010 AASV meetings, and serves on the AASV Advanced Techniques Conference Committee.

Dr. Dale D. Polson (ISU '82) received the 2011 Technical Services/Allied Industry Veterinarian of the Year Award. His work for Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica involves swine farm productivity and profitability. He was honored for publications and presentations on porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome virus detection, measurement, and management; work on developing a PRRS risk assessment tool for the AASV; and work on AASV and industry committees.

Dr. Amy L. Vincent (ISU '02) received the 2011 Howard Dunne Memorial Award, which is given for contributions and service to the association and swine industry. Dr. Vincent is a research veterinarian for the Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Research Service, and she was honored for her work toward understanding the novel 2009 H1N1 influenza virus and its potential impact on the swine industry. She is a member of the AASV Influenza Working Group.

Dr. Warren D. Wilson (MIN '69) received the 2011 Meritorious Service Award. He has been chair of the AASV Foundation for three years, and his leadership and fundraising efforts have helped the foundation support grants, scholarships, externships, travel stipends, and awards. He is a swine technical service veterinarian for Intervet/Schering-Plough Animal Health.

Dr. Jeremy S. Pittman (NCU '04) and Dr. Alejandro Ramirez (ISU '93) received the 2011 AASV Foundation Hogg Scholarship. The veterinarians will split the $10,000 prize, which is typically given yearly to one veterinarian who has been accepted to a qualified graduate program. Dr. Pittman works for Murphy-Brown in Waverly, Va., and he is working on a master's in veterinary preventive medicine through Iowa State University. Dr. Ramirez is a professor at ISU, and he is earning a doctorate in veterinary microbiology with an emphasis in preventive medicine.

Alexander E. Primus, a second-year veterinary student at the University of Minnesota, received a $5,000 scholarship from the AASV Foundation for his presentation on identification of potentially virulent Brachyspira. Four students received $2,500 each, five received $1,500 each, and five received $500 each. Alpharma Animal Health provided $5,000 for the top prize, and Elanco Animal Health provided $20,000 for the rest of the scholarships.