Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

American Association of Zoo Veterinarians

Event: Annual Conference, Oct. 25-29, 2010, South Padre Island, Texas
Program: The conference drew 435 attendees representing 26 countries.
Awards: Emil P. Dolensek Award: Dr. David A. Jessup, Santa Cruz, Calif., for exceptional contributions to the conservation, care, and understanding of zoo and free-ranging wildlife. A 1976 graduate of Washington State University and a diplomate of the American College of Zoological Medicine, Dr. Jessup retired as senior wildlife veterinarian and supervisor of the Marine Wildlife Veterinary Care and Research Center of the California Department of Fish and Game in 2010. He is the executive manager and a past president of the Wildlife Disease Association. Dr. Jessup is also a past president of the American Association of Wildlife Veterinarians and a past chair of the AVMA Committee on Environmental Issues. AAZV/Morris Animal Foundation Post-Graduate Student Manuscript Competition: First place—Dr. Shannon Shaw, Oklahoma City Zoo Zoological Medicine Residency Program, for "Comparison of laryngeal mask airway use with endotracheal intubation during anesthesia of Western Lowland gorillas (Gorilla gorilla gorilla)"; and second place—Dr. Marc Valitutto, Wildlife Conservation Society/Cornell University Zoological Medicine Residency Program, for "Pharmacokinetics of a long-acting formulation of ceftiofur (ceftiofur crystalline-free acid) administered intramuscularly in the ringneck dove (Streptopelia risoria)." AAZV/Wildlife Pharmaceuticals Inc. Under-Graduate Student Manuscript Competition: First place—Karen Lopez, Cornell University, for "Equine herpes- viruses: Implications for preventative medicine in common zebras (Equus burchellii), Hartmann's mountain zebras (Equus zebra hartmannae), and Thomson's gazelles (Gazella thomsoni)"; and second place—Julie TerBeest, Oregon State University, for "Efficacy of thiafentanil-dexmedetomidine-telazol for greater rhea (Rhea americana) immobilizations." Safe Capture International Inc. Poster Competition: First place—Dr. Lauren Howard, Houston, for "Disseminated mycobacteriosis in a head-start colony of Houston toads (Bufo houstonensis)"; and second place—Dr. Alina Evans, Fairbanks, Alaska, for "Capture and anesthesia of free-ranging hibernating brown bears (Ursus arctos)."
Officials: Drs. Kay Backues, Tulsa, Okla., president; Kirk Suedmeyer, Kansas City, Mo., president-elect; Paul Calle, Bronx, N.Y., vice president; Doug Armstrong, Omaha, Neb., secretary; Victoria Clyde, Milwaukee, treasurer; Jan Ramer, Musanze, Rwanda, immediate past president; and Robert Hilsenroth, Yulee, Fla., executive director.