Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Veterinary Dental Forum

2010 AVDC diplomates
2010 AVDC diplomates—Drs. Kristin Bannon, Ruth Barthel, Kristin Walker, and David Russell (Not pictured: Dr. Viacheslav Eroshin)
2010 AVD fellows
2010 AVD fellows—Drs. Barden Greenfield, Jeff Reiswig, Chris Carter, and Debra Nossaman


Event: 24th annual forum, Sept. 30-Oct. 3, 2010, San Antonio
Program: The forum, co-sponsored by the Academy of Veterinary Dentistry, the American Veterinary Dental College, and the American Veterinary Dental Society, attracted almost a thousand participants. The specialist-in-training module focused on oral surgery. Also offered were lectures and laboratories for veterinary dental technicians. The Peter Emily International Veterinary Dental Foundation presented a report on the state of the foundation. Special events included a silent auction held by the Foundation for Veterinary Dentistry and the Dental Digital Horse Race, a demonstration of the diagnostic quality of digital dental radiographs and the rapidity with which they can be obtained. The forum also served as the venue for the annual meeting of the Academy of Veterinary Dental Technicians, which recognized newly certified technicians.

American Veterinary Dental College

Awards: AVDC Peter Emily Service Award, sponsored by Virbac Animal Health: Dr. Jan Bellows, Weston, Fla., for outstanding contributions made to further the field of veterinary dentistry. A 1975 graduate of the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Bellows owns All Pets Dental in Weston and serves as a dental consultant with the Veterinary Information Network. He is a diplomate of the AVDC and the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (canine practice and feline practice) and a fellow of the AVD. AVDC Robert Wiggs Outstanding Candidate Award, sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health: Dr. Kristin Bannon, Sante Fe, N.M. A 1998 graduate of the Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences, Dr. Bannon practices veterinary dentistry and oral surgery in Sante Fe and Albuquerque, N.M. She is a diplomate of the AVDC and a fellow of the AVD, also serving as a member of the board of directors of the AVDS.
New diplomates: Five new diplomates were welcomed into the AVDC. They are as follows:
Kristin Bannon, Santa Fe, N.M.
Ruth Barthel, Grass Lakes, Mich.
Viacheslav Eroshin, Apia, Samoa
David Russell, Tulsa, Okla.
Kristin Walker, Fairfield, N.J.

Academy of Veterinary Dentistry

Awards: AVD Fellow-of-the-Year Award, sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health: Dr. Brett Beckman, Punta Gorda, Fla., for contributions made to advance the field of veterinary dentistry. A 1987 graduate of the Mississippi State University College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Beckman owns a small animal practice in Punta Gorda. He is the author of "Veterinary Dental X-Ray Positioning Guide." 2010 AVD Fellows of the Academy: Small animal—Drs. Chris Carter, Flower Mound, Texas; Barden Greenfield, Cordova, Tenn.; and Debra Nossaman, Gilbert, Ariz. Equine—Dr. Jeff Reiswig, Pataskala, Ohio

American Veterinary Dental Society

Awards: AVDS Education and Research Award, sponsored by Hill's Pet Nutrition Inc.: Dr. Fraser Hale, Guelph, Ontario, for contributions in the area of veterinary dentistry and helping to achieve the AVDS mission of a global society for the advancement of veterinary dental knowledge. Dr. Hale received his DVM degree from Ontario Veterinary College in 1984 and owns Hale Veterinary Clinic in Guelph, focusing on small animal dental and oral surgery. A diplomate of the AVDC and a fellow of the AVD, he authored "Understanding Veterinary Dentistry."

Academy of Veterinary Dental Technicians

The AVDT welcomed newly certified members Jill Jecevicus of Madison, Wis.; Marlea Kobylarek of Royal Oak, Mich.; and Sharon Harvey of Ithaca, N.Y.

Peter Emily International Veterinary Dental Foundation

Awards: Peter Emily International Veterinary Dental Foundation Award: Dr. Steve Holmstrom, San Carlos, Calif, for his service to the foundation, including volunteering to provide free dental care to zoo animals and animals in exotic animal sanctuaries in the United States and abroad. A 1972 graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia College of Veterinary Medicine, Dr. Holmstrom owns Animal Dental Clinic in San Carlos. He is a diplomate of the AVDC and co-chairs the board of directors of the PEIVDF.
Officials: American Veterinary Dental College—Dr. Sandra Manfra Marretta, Urbana, Ill., president; Academy of Veterinary Dentistry—Dr. Curt R. Coffman, Phoenix, president; American Veterinary Dental Society—Dr. John R. Lewis, Drexel Hill, Pa., president; and Academy of Veterinary Dental Technicians—Vickie Byard, Warminster, Pa., president