Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

American Board of Veterinary Practitioners

Dr. French
Dr. Dennis D. French
Dr. Datz
Dr. Craig Datz

Event: 15th annual symposium, April 15-18, Denver
Program: The symposium drew 230 diplomates, candidates, applicants, and general attendees. Cross-species information was offered, and 22 hours of species-specific continuing education was provided. Highlights this year included a laser lab, a seminar for aspiring diplomates, and a course for current diplomates interested in writing questions for the certifying examination. The annual symposium dinner acknowledged newly certified diplomates (see JAVMA, Feb. 1, 2010) and recertified diplomates.
Awards: Outstanding Service Award: Dr. Dennis D. French, Urbana, Ill., for more than 20 years of service and leadership to the ABVP. A 1978 graduate of the University of Minnesota, Dr. French is a professor in the Department of Veterinary Clinical Medicine and section head of farm animal reproduction, medicine, and surgery at the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine. He is a diplomate of the ABVP (equine practice) and professor emeritus in the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences at Louisiana State University.
Officials (2010-2011): Drs. Craig Datz, Columbia, Mo., president; Stephen Foulke, Denver, Pa., president-elect; Michael Erskine, Woodbine, Md., vice president; Nicholas Nelson, Lynwood, Wash., treasurer; Teresa Lightfoot, Tampa, Fla., immediate past president; Kemba Marshall, Phoenix, avian regent; Robert Sager, Wilsall, Mont., beef cattle regent; Norris McGehee, Memphis, Tenn., canine/feline regent; Scott Poock, Booneville, Mo., dairy regent; John Dascanio, Blacksburg, Va., equine regent; Michael Dutton, Weare, N.H., exotic companion mammal regent; Jeanne Pittari, Houston, feline regent; Greg Queen, Clemson, S.C., food animal regent; Paul Gibbons, Milwaukee, Wis., reptile and amphibian regent; James Kober, West Olive, Mich., swine health management regent; and Kimberlee Buck, Birch Run, Mich., regent-at-large

Massachusetts VMA

Event: Annual meeting, May 12, Marlborough
Business: Constitutional amendments and minutes of the 2009 annual meeting were approved.
Officials: Drs. Mary Anna Labato, Shrewsbury, president; Kathleen Reilly, Keene, N.H., president-elect; Cindy Fuhs, Bolton, secretary; Adam Arzt, Holliston, treasurer; and David Schwarz, Holliston, immediate past president