Published on January 18, 2010
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Dr. Angela Lennox

Dr. Cathy Johnson-Delaney

Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 10, 2009, Milwaukee
Program: The meeting, held in conjunction with the Association of Avian Veterinarians (see JAVMA, Dec 1, 2009), had 67 members in attendance. President of the AEMV, Dr. Cathy Johnson-Delaney, presided over the meeting.
Awards: President's Award: Dr. Angela Lennox, Indianapolis, for her commitment to the AEMV and her dedication to its vision. A 1989 graduate of Purdue University and a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (avian practice), Dr. Lennox practices at the Avian & Exotic Animal Clinic of Indianapolis. She also serves as an adjunct professor at Purdue University. Dr. Lennox is immediate past president of the AEMV.
Business: Topics of discussion included long-term strategic planning to help the AEMV achieve its goals and realize its mission statement. Dr. Lauren Powers will chair the newly formed Strategic Planning Committee. The formation of a Research Committee, with Dr. Joerg Mayer as chair, was initiated, and a template will be developed for donations, applications, qualifications, and publication of results.
Officials: Drs. Cathy Johnson-Delaney, Kirkland, Wash., president; Rose Fiskett, Scotland, Pa., vice president; Melissa Kling, Macon, Ga., secretary; Dan Johnson, Raleigh, N.C., treasurer; and Angela Lennox, Indianapolis, immediate past president

New Mexico VMA

Dr. Linda Locklar

Event: Annual meeting, Oct. 24, 2009, Albuquerque
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Ulysses McElyea Jr., Las Cruces. A 1967 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. McElyea owns Alta Vista Animal Clinic in Las Cruces. He is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners and past chair of the New Mexico Board of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. McElyea was honored for his service on the association's Pharmaceutical Relations Committee and his efforts in establishing a national registry of veterinarians disciplined by veterinary regulatory boards. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Michael Alber, Roswell. A 1979 graduate of Kansas State University and a past president of the NMVMA, Dr. Alber co-owns College Garden Animal Hospital in Roswell. He is president of the Southwest Veterinary Symposium and was honored for his work with the symposium.
Officials: Drs. Linda Locklar, Silver City, president; T. Murt Byrne, Santa Fe, president-elect; Manuel Garcia, Farmington, secretary-treasurer; and Lawrence Young, Artesia, immediate past president