Teaching, research awards conferred

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Following are winners of the 2009 Carl J. Norden-Pfizer Distinguished Teaching Award and the Pfizer Animal Health Award for Research Excellence at 29 and 25 veterinary schools, respectively. The Norden award is given to educators in recognition of their character and leadership qualities as well as their outstanding teaching abilities. The Pfizer award recognizes researchers whose innovative studies have advanced the scientific standing of veterinary medicine. 

Carl J. Norden-Pfizer Distinguished Teaching Award  

Elaine S. Coleman, DVM, PhD, Auburn University
Birgit Puschner, DVM, PhD, University of California-Davis
David Van Metre, DVM, Colorado State University
Stuart P. Bliss, DVM, PhD, Cornell University
Amy E.S. Stone, DVM, PhD, University of Florida
Cynthia R. Ward, VMD, PhD, University of Georgia
Ralph E. Hamor, DVM, University of Illinois
Donald D. Draper, DVM, PhD, Iowa State University
Emily Klocke, DVM, Kansas State University 
Daniel J. Burba, DVM, Louisiana State University
Arthur Currey, DVM, Michigan State University
Jenifer R. Myers, DVM, University of Minnesota
Robert L. Linford, DVM, PhD, Mississippi State University
Dietrich H. Volkmann, BVSc, University of Missouri-Columbia
Steven L. Marks, BVSc, North Carolina State University
Edward S. Cooper, VMD, The Ohio State University
Jim Lish, PhD, Oklahoma State University
Jana M. Gordon, DVM, Oregon State University
Peter S. Chapman, BVetMed, University of Pennsylvania
Larry G. Adams, DVM, PhD, Purdue University
Rajesh K. Banga, BVSc, St. George's University
Robert W. Henry, DVM, PhD, University of Tennessee
Kevin E. Washburn, DVM, Texas A&M University
Lois A. Wetmore, DVM, Tufts University
James Webster, PhD, Tuskegee University
Larry E. Freeman, DVM, Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine
John S. Mattoon, DVM, Washington State University
Wael Khamas, BVM&S, PhD, Western University of Health Sciences
Lauren A. Trepanier, DVM, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison   

Pfizer Animal Health Award for Research Excellence 

Edward E. Morrison, PhD, Auburn University
Gino A. Cortopassi, PhD, University of California-Davis
Daniel Gustafson, PhD, Colorado State University
Margaret S. Bynoe, PhD, Cornell University
Mark Jackwood, PhD, University of Georgia
Jodi Flaws, PhD, University of Illinois
Tanja Opriessnig, DVM, PhD, Iowa State University
David G. Renter, DVM, PhD, Kansas State University
Shisheng Li, PhD, Louisiana State University
John M. Kruger, DVM, PhD, Michigan State University
Mathur S. Kannan, BVSc, PhD, University of Minnesota
David Christiansen, DVM, Mississippi State University
Richard M. Hopper, DVM, Mississippi State University
Peter L. Ryan, PhD, Mississippi State University
F. Kevin Walters, DVM, Mississippi State University
Joan R. Coates, DVM, University of Missouri-Columbia
Jorge Piedrahita, PhD, North Carolina State University
James K. Belknap, DVM, PhD, The Ohio State University
Lin Liu, PhD, Oklahoma State University
Michael L. Kent, PhD, Oregon State University
David Artis, PhD, University of Pennsylvania
Gert J. Breur, DVM, PhD, Purdue University
Dickson D. Varner, DVM, Texas A&M University
Charles Shoemaker, PhD, Tufts University
Nammalwar Sriranganathan, BVSc, PhD, Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine
David Rector, PhD, Washington State University
Miguel Saggese, DVM, PhD, Western University of Health Sciences
John Svaren, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison