Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

American Holistic VMA

Event: Annual meeting, Fitchburg, Mass., Sept. 12-15
Officials: Drs. Julia H. Sturm, Glenelg, Md., president; Richard E. Palmquist, Inglewood, Calif., president-elect; Susan L. Beal, Big Run, Pa., vice president; Barbara E. Royal, Chicago, secretary-treasurer; and Nancy N. Scanlan, Sherman Oaks, Calif., immediate past president

American Embryo Transfer Association

Event: Annual meeting, Sept. 17-19, Montreal
Program: The conference, held in conjunction with the Canadian Embryo Transfer Association, drew more than 300 attendees. Speakers offered the latest clinical and research information on donor fertility, semen sexing, and bovine endocrinology. Split sessions featured a practitioner forum and a small ruminants and porcine forum. Preconvention seminars covered the basics of embryo transfer and advanced embryo techniques.
Business: Bylaw revisions were presented. The Education Committee outlined progress made in developing and improving the AETA Web site, and the Statistics Committee discussed opportunities and obstacles in data collection protocol. A task force report on the potential for additional levels of recognition was referred to the Certification Committee for further consideration.
Officials: Drs. Sam Edwards, Harrogate, Tenn., president; Richard Whitaker, Turner, Maine, vice president; Glenn Engelland, Salina, Kan., secretary-treasurer; Byron Williams, Plymouth, Wis., immediate past president; and directors-at-large—Drs. Stanley Huels, Altamont, Ill.; Chris Keim, Whitewater, Wis.; Kevin Lindell, South Woodstock, Conn.; Charles Looney, College Station, Texas; and James Spears, Franklin, Ky.

Association of Avian Veterinarians

Dr. Phalen
Dr. David N. Phalen
Dr. Antinoff
Dr. Natalie Antinoff
Dr. Beaufrere
Dr. Hugues Beaufrere
Katherine Ratzlaff
Katherine Ratzlaff


Dr. Barron
Dr. Heather Barron
Dr. Hess
Dr. Laurie R. Hess

Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 8-15, Milwaukee
Awards: Dr. T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner Award: Dr. David N. Phalen, Camden, New South Wales, Australia, for advancing avian medicine and surgery while providing inspiration and showing compassion. A 1983 graduate of Cornell University and a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (avian practice), Dr. Phalen is an associate professor at the University of Sydney and director of its Wildlife Health and Conservation Center. Earlier in his career, he served as an associate professor at Texas A&M University's College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences and was assistant director of its Schubot Exotic Bird Health Center. Speaker of the Year: Dr. Natalie Antinoff, Houston. A 1992 graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison and a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (avian practice), Dr. Antinoff is director of Gulf Coast Avian and Exotics, part of Gulf Coast Veterinary Specialists in Houston. She was chosen as the favorite speaker from the 2008 AAV conference. AAV Resident Manuscript Competition Award: Dr. Hugues Beaufrere, Baton Rouge, La., for "Transesophageal echocardiography in the normal bird." AAV Student Manuscript Competition Award: Katherine Ratzlaff, Raleigh, N.C., for "Plasma concentrations of fluconazole after single oral dose and administration in drinking water in cockatiels (Nymphicus hollandicus)."
Officials: Drs. Laurie R. Hess, Mount Kisco, N.Y., president; Heather Barron, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands, president-elect; Paul L. Welch, Tulsa, Okla., treasurer; and Karen L. Rosenthal, Philadelphia, immediate past president and conference chair

Association of Reptilian and Amphibian Veterinarians

Dr. Cooper
Dr. John E. Cooper
Dr. Gibbons
Dr. Paul M. Gibbons
Dr. Griffin
Dr. Christopher W. Griffin

Event: Annual conference, Aug. 11-15, Milwaukee
Awards: Fred Frye Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. John E. Cooper, Cambridge, United Kingdom, for excellence in herpetologic education, husbandry, medicine, surgery, conservation, and/or welfare. A diplomate of the European College of Veterinary Pathologists and a fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists and Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons, professor Cooper is a member of the Department of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Cambridge. With interests in wildlife, exotic species, tropical diseases, and comparative medicine, he has authored several books, including "Diseases of the Reptilia," "Veterinary Aspects of Captive Birds of Prey," and "Birds of Prey: Health and Disease." Exotic DVM of the Year, sponsored by Zoological Education Network: Dr. Paul M. Gibbons, Lannon, Wis. A 1994 graduate of the University of Illinois, Dr. Gibbons directs the Exotic Species Specialty Service at the Animal Emergency Center in Milwaukee. He is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (avian practice). Service Award: Dr. Thomas H. Boyer, San Diego, for his service as editor-in-chief of the ARAV Bulletin and the Journal of Herpetological Medicine and Surgery from 1991-2009. A 1989 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Boyer owns Pet Hospital of Penasquitos. He is co-founder of the ARAV. Student Poster Award: First place ($250)—Christine M. Molter (WIS '11), for "Humeral head ostectomy in a South American yellow-footed tortoise"; second place ($125)—Jordan A. Gentry (AUB '11), for "Mycotic dermatitis and mycobacterium in juvenile green tree pythons."
Officials: Drs. Christopher W. Griffin, Kannapolis, N.C., president; Paul M. Gibbons, Lannon, Wis., president-elect; Kenneth A. Harkewicz, Berkeley, Calif., vice president; Dana M. Varble, Chandler, Ariz., secretary; J. Jill Heatly, College Station, treasurer; and Jeff G. Baier, Golden, Colo., immediate past president

Alaska VMA

Event: Annual meeting, Anchorage, Oct. 2-4
Officials: Drs. Catherine H. Versteeg, Eagle River, president; James J. Delker, Soldotna, president-elect; Myra L. Wilson, Anchorage, secretary; Linda M. Chang, Anchorage, treasurer; and Nelson H. Priddy, Anchorage, immediate past president

Utah VMA

Dr. Allen
Dr. Drew L. Allen
Dr. Bagley
Dr. Clell V. Bagley

Event: Annual meeting, South Jordan, Sept. 12
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Drew L. Allen, Grantsville. A 1996 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Allen is a partner at Brickyard Animal Hospital in Salt Lake City. A past president of the Utah and Salt Lake City VMAs, he chairs the UVMA State Legislative Committee. Lifetime Service Award: Dr. Clell V. Bagley, Logan. A 1968 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Bagley retired in 2007 after more than 30 years of service as an extension veterinarian at Utah State University. He is a past president of the UVMA, served as its delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates from 1996-2000, and authored "History of the Utah Veterinary Medical Association."
Officials: Drs. Neil E.B. Moss, Kaysville, president; Douglas B. Murphy, Vernal, president-elect; Carl L. Pew, Orem, treasurer; Drew L. Allen, Salt Lake City, immediate past president; and Harold J. Davis, Springville, executive secretary