Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Colorado VMA

Dr. Louderback
Dr. C. Bruce Louderback
Dr. Cavanaugh
Dr. Michael T. Cavanaugh
Dr. Sharkey
Dr. Steven C. Sharkey
Dr. Lana
Dr. Susan E. Lana


Dr. Neely
Dr. Marlon R. Neely
Maura Green
Maura Green
Dr. Cohn
Dr. Theodore J. Cohn
Anne McGihon
Anne McGihon


Dr. Robinson
Dr. Narda G. Robinson

Event: 103rd annual meeting, Sept. 17-20, Keystone
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. C. Bruce Louderback, Foxfield. A 1970 graduate of the University of Illinois, Dr. Louderback owns Mission Viejo Veterinary Hospital, a small animal practice in Aurora. Active in organized veterinary medicine, he chaired the Colorado State Board of Veterinary Medicine from 2006-2007 and recently began service as chair of the American Association of Veterinary State Boards. Industry Partner of the Year: Dr. Michael T. Cavanaugh, Fort Collins. A 1983 graduate of Kansas State University and a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners, Dr. Cavanaugh is director of veterinary hospital services at Pfizer Animal Health. Providing educational programs in leadership and communications, Dr. Cavanaugh helps promote animal health, the human-animal bond, and the veterinarian-client-patient relationship. Rising Star Veterinarian: Dr. Steven C. Sharkey, Johnstown. A 2000 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Sharkey practices at Fort Morgan Veterinary Clinic in Fort Morgan. He serves as the CVMA District 4 representative and works with the CVMA Commission on Education, helping to organize the annual convention. Dr. Sharkey is a past member of the association's Task Force on Animal Welfare Principles. Outstanding Faculty Award: Dr. Susan E. Lana, Fort Collins. A 1993 graduate of Colorado State University and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine, Dr. Lana is service chief of the Clinical Oncology Service at Colorado State University's Veterinary Teaching Hospital. She also oversees the CSU Animal Cancer Center Consultation Service. Dr. Lana is a member of the Veterinary Cancer Society and Veterinary Cooperative Oncology Group. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Marlon R. Neely, Littleton. A 1971 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Neely is a founder of the Veterinary Referral Center of Colorado in Englewood. Early in his career, he owned Central Veterinary Emergency Hospital in Englewood and Bergen Park Animal Clinic in Bergen Park. Dr. Neely was honored for his service toward the advancement of veterinary medicine in the state over an extended time. Technician of the Year: Maura Green, Fort Collins. Green is a small animal veterinary technician at Colorado State University Veterinary Teaching Hospital. A member of the Association of Veterinary Hematology and Transfusion Medicine, she created a foster parent blood donor program at CSU, wherein veterinary students adopt racetrack Greyhounds and bring them to the hospital each month to donate blood. Green has also helped expand the small animal fiberoptic department at CSU. Colorado Association of Certified Veterinary Technicians Advocate Award: Dr. Theodore J. Cohn, Lone Tree, for promoting the veterinary technician profession. A 1975 graduate of Tuskegee University, Dr. Cohn is a partner at University Hills Animal Hospital in Denver and represents District IX on the AVMA Executive Board. In his role as delegate, he strives to create a productive partnership with the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America. President's Award: Anne McGihon, Denver, and Dr. Narda G. Robinson, Fort Collins. Former state representative, McGihon was recognized for championing a balanced approach to animal physical therapy in the state. As state representative, she ensured that the vision for animal physical therapy, which balances the interests of the patients, the veterinary profession, and licensed physical therapists, translated into statute. Dr. Robinson was honored for championing a balanced approach to animal chiropractor in the state. Director of the CSU Center for Comparative and Integrative Pain Medicine, she is the founder and director of the Medical Acupuncture for Veterinarians Program and is known for her efforts to develop complementary and alternative medicine in the veterinary profession. Colorado Federation of Animal Welfare Agencies Veterinary Partnership Award: Dr. Terry L. Woltman, Aurora. A 1978 graduate of Texas A&M University, Dr. Woltman practices at Special Friends Veterinary Clinic in Aurora. He was honored for assisting the city's animal care division and municipal animal shelter by substantially subsidizing the cost of veterinary services.
Officials: Drs. William R. Fredregill, Sterling, president; Thomas D. Parks, Yuma, president-elect; Apryl S. Steele, Denver, secretary-treasurer; Randa G. MacMillan, Littleton,secretary-treasurer-elect; Jed Rogers, Denver, immediate past president; and AVMA delegate and alternate delegate—Drs. Elizabeth L. Whitney, Fort Collins, and John R. Rule, Steamboat Springs

Iowa VMA

Dr. Kenyon
Dr. James R. Kenyon
Dr. Frevert
Dr. William W. Frevert
Dr. Eness
Dr. Paul G. Eness
Dr. Whitney
Dr. David D. Whitney

Event: Annual meeting, Sept. 17-18, Ames
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. James R. Kenyon, Cedar Falls. A 1975 graduate of Kansas State University, Dr. Kenyon is the founder of what is now known as Cedar Valley Veterinary Center, a small animal practice in Cedar Falls. During the 2008 floods in Iowa, Dr. Kenyon assisted in recovery efforts, providing free medical care and boarding facilities to animals without a home. Meritorious Service Award: Dr. William W. Frevert, Emmetsburg. A 1960 graduate of Iowa State University, Dr. Frevert established a practice in Emmetsburg in 1962. He has served 20 years on the Farm Advisory Council for Iowa Lakes Community College. Dr. Frevert is involved with the IVMA's legislative efforts and helped obtain funding for Iowa State University's Lloyd Veterinary Medical Center and Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory. President's Award: Dr. Paul G. Eness, Dayton. A 1963 graduate of Iowa State University, Dr. Eness has been professor emeritus of veterinary clinical sciences at the ISU College of Veterinary Medicine since 1996. During his tenure, he also provided ambulatory services to farms in the area.
Officials: Drs. David D. Whitney, West Des Moines, president; Teresa A. Carmichael, Oskaloosa, president-elect; William J. Williams, Ames, vice president; and James K. West, Ames,immediate past president