Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Association of Avian Veterinarians

Dr. Dahlhausen
Dr. Robert Dahlhausen
Dr. Speer
Dr. Brian Speer
Dr. Harris
Dr. James Harris
Dr. Flammer
Dr. Keven Flammer


Dr. Rosenthal
Dr. Karen Rosenthal
Dr. Hess
Dr. Laurie Hess

Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 9-14, Savannah, Ga.
Program: The meeting was held in conjunction with the Association of Exotic Mammal Veterinarians.
Awards: Dr. T.J. Lafeber Avian Practitioner Award: Dr. Robert Dahlhausen, Milford, Ohio, for advancing avian medicine and surgery while providing inspiration and showing compassion. A 1983 graduate of The Ohio State University, Dr. Dahlhausen owns Veterinary Molecular Diagnostics Inc. President's Award: Dr. Brian Speer, in recognition of his continued dedication to the health and welfare of the avian population. A 1983 graduate of the University of California-Davis, Dr. Speer is president and director of The Medical Center for Birds. He serves on the AAV board of directors and is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (avian practice). Outstanding Service Award: Dr. James Harris, Sandy Bay, Tasmania, Australia, for his dedication to the growth and success of the AAV. A 1958 graduate of Michigan State University, Dr. Harris practices at the Mayfair Veterinary Clinic in Sandy Bay. He is the AAV's delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates. Service Award: Drs. Garry M. Cross, Guildford, New South Wales, Australia, and Heather Barron, Cayman Islands, were recognized for their dedication and commitment to the avian welfare community and the AAV. A 1966 graduate of the University of Sydney, Dr. Cross served as associate dean at the Camden campus of the University of Sydney's Faculty of Veterinary Science from 1990-2003. Earlier in his career, he worked for the New South Wales Department of Agriculture. A 1995 graduate of the University of Georgia, Dr. Barron is a professor of small and exotic animal medicine and chair of veterinary clinical sciences at St. Matthew's University School of Veterinary Medicine. She is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (avian practice). AAV Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Keven Flammer, Milford, Ohio. A 1980 graduate of the University of California-Davis, Dr. Flammer is a professor at the North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine. He was honored for helping the avian community better understand infectious diseases and drug pharmacokinetics in birds. AAV Resident Manuscript Competition Award: Dr. Marcy Souza, Knoxville, Tenn., for "Conjunctival xanthoma in a blue and gold Macau (Ara ararauna)." Dr. Souza is a resident at the University of Tennessee. AAV Student Manuscript Competition Award: Dr. Mary Lee, Las Vegas, for "Squamous cell carcinoma in a great horned owl (Bubo virginianus)."
Officials: Drs. Karen Rosenthal, Philadelphia, president; Laurie Hess, Mount Kisco, N.Y., president-elect; Paul Welch, Tulsa, Okla., treasurer; and M. Scott Echols, Austin, Texas, immediate past president and conference chair

Association of Exotic Mammal Veterinarians

Dr. Powers
Dr. Lauren Powers
Dr. Mayer
Dr. Joerg Mayer

Event: Annual meeting, Aug. 11, Savannah, Ga.
Program: The meeting, held in conjunction with the Association of Avian Veterinarians (see story, this page), had 51 members in attendance. President of the AEMV, Dr. Cathy Johnson-Delaney, presided over the meeting. New educational sessions this year included exotic mammal roundtable discussions and master classes.
Awards: President's Award: Dr. Lauren Powers, Huntersville, N.C., for her service and dedication to the goals and principles of the AEMV. A 1994 graduate of Tufts University and a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners (avian practice), Dr. Powers is service head for the Avian and Exotic Pet Service at Carolina Veterinary Specialists in Huntersville. She also serves as an adjunct assistant professor at North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine. Earlier in her career, she practiced in Chapel Hill, N.C., for five years. Certificate of appreciation: Dr. Joerg Mayer, North Grafton, Mass., was recognized for his six years of service as AEMV treasurer.
Business: Topics of discussion included the granting of provisional recognition by the AVMA to the Exotic Companion Mammal Practice, a new veterinary specialty within the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners. The AEMV Web site will provide further details on the certification process. It was announced that the AEMV will continue to be active with regard to the contents and publication of the Journal of Exotic Pet Medicine. Dr. Susan Orosz will serve again as the AEMV Conference Proceedings scientific editor in 2009.
Officials: Drs. Cathy Johnson-Delaney, Kirkland, Wash., president; Lauren Powers, Huntersville, N.C., vice president; Melissa Kling, Macon, Ga., secretary; Dan Johnson, Raleigh, N.C., treasurer; and Angela Lennox, Indianapolis, immediate past president

Alabama VMA

Dr. Pirtle
Dr. H. Winston Pirtle Sr.
Dr. Benefield
Dr. Jim W. Benefield
Dr. Newman
Dr. Michael E. Newman

Event: Annual meeting, June 26-29, Sandestin, Fla.
Awards: Distinguished Service Award: Dr. H. Winston Pirtle Sr., Montgomery, for commitment of time and energy and for achievements and contributions toward the advancement of veterinary medicine. A 1967 graduate of Auburn University, Dr. Pirtle owned a mixed animal practice in Montgomery until 2005. He has twice served as president of the Alabama VMA. Dr. Pirtle, who also has a law degree from the Jones School of Law in Montgomery, now serves as a relief veterinarian throughout Alabama. Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Jim W. Benefield, Montgomery. A 1974 graduate of Auburn University and a past president of the Alabama VMA, Dr. Benefield is the founder and co-owner of Carmichael Road Animal Clinic in Montgomery. Earlier in his career, he owned a practice in Valdosta, Ga.
Officials: Drs. Michael E. Newman, Decatur, president; Larry L. Chasteen, Pell City, president-elect; Libby C. Todd, Birmingham, vice president; H. Winston Pirtle Sr., Montgomery, treasurer; and C. Mark Russell, Huntsville, immediate past president