Published on March 15, 2008
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Missouri VMA

Dr. Taylor H. Woods
Dr. Taylor H. Woods
Dr. Steve M. Strubberg
Dr. Steve M. Strubberg

Event: 116th annual convention, Jan. 25-27, Branson
Program: There were more than 600 attendees at the meeting, which offered 60 continuing education lectures.
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Taylor H. Woods, Jefferson City. A 1959 graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia, Dr. Woods is acting Missouri state veterinarian. During his career, he has served as a veterinary medical officer with the Department of Agriculture's Food Safety and Inspection Service, as director and state veterinarian for the Arkansas Livestock and Poultry Division, and as Missouri's state veterinarian and state director of animal health from 2002-2005. He is an ex officio member of the MVMA Animal Health and Regulatory Medicine, Emergency Management and Public Health, and Veterinary Technician committees. President's Award: Dr. William A. Wolff, Columbia. A 1954 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Wolff is an adjunct instructor in agroterrorism topics at Louisiana State University. During his career, he has also served in the Army Veterinary Corps, practiced in western Colorado, and taught and conducted research in Colombia and Kenya. Dr. Wolff chairs the Missouri Volunteer Veterinary Corps and is past chair of the MVMA Emergency Management Committee. Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation Distinguished Service Award: Dr. and Mrs. George Fischer, Amity, for their many years of volunteer service and their assistance in expanding the foundation's mission of public education and charitable giving to worthy organizations. Honorary Membership Award of the Missouri Academy of Veterinary Practice: Dr. Charles W. Monsees, Lake Ozark, won this award given for distinguished or meritorious service to the veterinary profession. A 1954 graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia, Dr. Monsees served as Missouri state veterinarian and worked for the Department of Agriculture's Food Safety and Inspection Service in meat inspection, prior to retirement. He is a past president of the MVMA.
Officials: MVMA—Drs. Steve M. Strubberg, Hermann, president; Scott A. Fray, Boonville, president-elect; Bruce P. Whittle, Trenton, vice president; Shelia L. Taylor, Springfield, secretary-treasurer; and Michael B. Pfander, Springfield, executive board chair. Missouri Academy of Veterinary Practice—Dr. Jonathan L. Renfrow, Richmond, president; Dr. Peggy T. Fisher, Jackson, president-elect; Dr. Christopher C. Morrow, Independence, vice president; and Richard Antweiler, Jefferson City, executive secretary-treasurer. Missouri Veterinary Medical Foundation—Dr. V.M. "Mac" Wilt, Paris, chairman; Dr. William J. Shore, St. Louis, vice chairman; Ann White, Perryville, secretary-treasurer; and Dr. James Howard, Jefferson City, museum director

Arkansas VMA  

Dr. Michael A. Liles
Dr. Michael A. Liles
Dr. Norette L. Underwood
Dr. Norette L.

Event: Annual meeting, Feb. 8-10, Hot Springs
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Michael A. Liles, Searcy. A 1981 graduate of Louisiana State University, Dr. Liles owns Liles Animal Clinic in Searcy. Secretary-treasurer of the Arkansas VMA, he has served on its board of directors for more than 18 years.
Officials: Drs. Norette L. Underwood, Trumann, president; David M. Blount, Fort Smith, president-elect; Rene' L. LaVergne, Little Rock, vice president; Michael A. Liles, Searcy, secretary-treasurer; and Mike Beard, Conway, immediate past president