Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

American College of Veterinary Radiology


Event: Annual meeting, Nov. 26-Dec. 1, Chicago
Program: The meeting had 300 attendees, representing nine countries. In excess of 60 scientific papers were presented. Five keynote speakers discussed topics related to diagnostic imaging and radiation oncology.
Awards: Resident-authored Paper Award—Dr. Rita Echandi, Columbus, Ohio, for "Comparison of transplenic multidetector CT-portography to multidetector CT-angiography in normal dogs." Dr. Echandi is a member of the faculty at The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine. Her paper was based on research performed while she was a radiology resident at the University of Tennessee.
Diplomates: Thirty-two new diplomates were welcomed into the ACVR in 2007. They are as follows: Radiology—Dr. Gregory Almond, Auburn, Ala.; Dr. Jason B. Arble, Stillwater, Okla.; Dr. Jessica Basseches, West Roxbury, Mass.; Dr. Rachel Bowlus, Boulder, Colo.; Dr. Elizabeth M. Brown, Ashland, Mass.; Dr. James Brown, Raleigh, N.C.; Dr. David A. Detweiler, Davis, Calif.; Dr. Rita Echandi, Columbus, Ohio; Dr. David V. Kerr, Locust Grove, Va.; Jennifer Kinns, Leslie, Mich.; Dr. Edmund Leigh, Boulder, Colo.; Dr. Alexander MacLeod, Davis, Calif.; Dr. Angela Marolf, Fort Collins, Colo.; Dr. Andrea Matthews, Knoxville, Tenn.; Dr. Holly J. McCort, Auburn, Ala.; Dr. Colleen Mitchell, Guelph, Ontario, Canada; Dr. Jesse Nagy, Columbia, Mo.; Dr. Kristen J. O'Dell, Urbana, Ill.; Dr. Christopher Ober, Blacksburg, Va.; Dr. LeeAnn Pack, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada; Dr. Michael E. Roy, Tucson, Ariz.; Dr. Rochelle M. Salwei, Clackamas, Ore.; Dr. Rachel A. Schochet, Long Beach, Calif.; Dr. Mathieu Spriet, Davis, Calif.; Dr. James Sutherland-Smith, North Grafton, Mass.; and Dr. Kevin Winegardner, Richmond, Va. Radiation oncology—Drs. Julia Buchholz, Weinheim, Germany; Sarah Charney, Tucson, Ariz.; Lisa DiBernardi, Pembroke Pines, Fla.; Tracy Gieger, Carlsbad, Calif.; Ira Gordon, Davis, Calif.; and Kenji Hosoya, Columbus, Ohio
Officials: Drs. Tod Drost, Columbus, Ohio, president; Jon Shiroma, Worthington, Ohio, president-elect; and Bill Hornof, Davis, Calif., immediate past president