Illinois State VMA
Published on January 15, 2008
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Illinois veterinarians

Event: Annual meeting, Nov. 2-4, Peoria
Awards: Erwin Small First Decade Award: Dr. Kristi McCullough, Pawnee, won this award, given to a veterinarian who has been practicing for less than 10 years and has supported the goals and mission of the association through leadership and/or participation in association-approved programs. A 2001 graduate of the University of Illinois, Dr. McCullough owns Illini Veterinary Relief Services. She will serve as chair of the ISVMA Education Planning Committee in 2008. Veterinary Service Award: Dr. Emil Baukert, Glenview, for promoting the human-animal bond in Illinois. Dr. Baukert owns Riser Animal Hospital in Skokie. He founded the ISVMA Animals Contributing to Society Awards Program and the Wings Pet Loss Support Group. Dr. Baukert is leading efforts to purchase oxygen masks for animals for use by the Chicago and suburban fire departments. President's Award: Dr. Michael P. Thomas, Washington, Ill., for contributions to the veterinary profession and his community. Dr. Thomas owns Teegarden Veterinary Clinic and serves on the Parkland College Veterinary Technician Program Advisory Board.
Officials: Drs. Ronald E. Gill, West Salem, president; Sheldon Rubin, Chicago, president-elect; Lydia Gray, Elburn, vice president; Stephen J. Dullard, Mendota, treasurer; and Craig A. Stevenson, Sandwich, immediate past president