Veterinary emergency and critical care groups hold symposium
Published on November 15, 2007
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Please note: the online version of this document contains a correction. Corrected photo is framed in red below.

Event: 13th International Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Symposium, Sept. 26-30, New Orleans
Program: Attendees at the symposium—held jointly by the Veterinary Emergency & Critical Care Society, American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care, and Academy of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Technicians—included 1,514 veterinarians and 845 veterinary technicians. The focus was critical pharmacology. More than 450 hours of continuing education were offered. The symposium combined lectures, wet and dry labs, and seminars and workshops and was the venue for the annual meetings of the Academy of Veterinary Technician Anesthetists, American Association of Veterinary Blood Banks, and, for the first time, American College of Veterinary Anesthesiologists. Drs. Dawn Boothe and Mark Papich jointly presented the Robert P. Knowles Memorial Keynote Lecture on the role of clinical pharmacology in emergency and critical care. Dr. Boothe is a professor of physiology and pharmacology at the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine. She also directs the college's newly established clinical pharmacology laboratory. Dr. Papich is a professor of clinical pharmacology and supervisor of the clinical pharmacology laboratory at North Carolina State University's College of Veterinary Medicine. Ben deBoiseblanc, MD, gave a special presentation, "Post Katrina humanism," describing how he and his staff responded to and managed the intensive-care unit patients of New Orleans' Charity Hospital, in the absence of electricity, for days following the hurricane.
Awards: Ira M. Zaslow Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Kenneth J. Drobatz, Lansdowne, Pa., for his contributions through teaching, training, mentorship, and leadership. A 1985 graduate of the University of California-Davis, Dr. Drobatz is a professor and chief of the Section of Critical Care in the School of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. He also serves as director of emergency service at the university's Matthew J. Ryan Veterinary Hospital and as associate chair for education in the Department of Clinical Studies. Dr. Drobatz is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine and the ACVECC. Hill's Dr. Jack Mara ACVECC Achievement Award: Dr. Douglass MacIntire, Auburn, Ala., for outstanding achievement in the area of infectious disease in the critically ill. A 1980 graduate of Texas A&M University, Dr. MacIntire is the P.B. Griffin Distinguished Professor in Emergency/Critical Care Medicine at Auburn University. A past president of the VECCS and a diplomate of the ACVIM and ACVECC, she is also the co-director of the Auburn University Critical Care Service. ACVECC Research Grant Award: Dr. Elizabeth Armitae-Chan, Royal Veterinary College, United Kingdom, for "Investigation of the role of regulatory T cells in the immunoparalysis evoked by naturally occurring sepsis in dogs;" Dr. Gary Magdesian, University of California-Davis, for "Fluid volume distribution in the neonatal foal: Evaluation of an isotonic fluid challenge using bioelectrical impedance analysis and indicator dilution;" and Sophie Adamantos, Royal Veterinary College, United Kingdom, for "Prevalence and risk factors associated with colonization with multi-drug-resistant E coli on admission to a veterinary intensive care unit." Small Animal Resident Abstract Award, sponsored jointly by VECCS, ACVECC, and Boehringer Ingelheim: A $500 stipend was awarded to Dr. Michael Ethier, Ontario Veterinary College, for "Evaluation of the safety and efficacy of two sedative/analgesic protocols for assisted ventilation in healthy dogs." Large Animal Resident Abstract Award, sponsored by Mila International: A $500 stipend was awarded to Dr. Anna Hollis of the University of Pennsylvania's New Bolton Center, for "Comparison of point-of-care, blood gas, and laboratory methods of glucose measurement in equine emergency patients." ACVA Abstract Award, sponsored by Smiths Medical and Surgivet: First place—Dr. Chiara Valtolina, Royal Veterinary College, United Kingdom, for "Dexmedetomidine constant rate infusion for post-operative pain management in dogs;" Second place—Dr. Jusmeen Dhanjal, Michigan State University, for "Effects of tramadol in horses;" Third place—Dr. Andrew Claude, Iowa State University, for "A comparison using an electrocardiograph technique with a blind technique for central venous catheter placement in the dog." Case Report Award, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim: A $300 stipend was awarded to Dr. Jamie Peyton, Davis, Calif., for "Another cup of coffee?" Technician Case Report Award, sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health: A $300 stipend was awarded to DeeDee Schumacher, Des Moines, Iowa, for "The unusual tube gastropexy complication."


Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Society

Officials: Dr. Susan M. Barnes, Leesburg, Va., president; Harold Davis Jr., Sacramento Calif., president-elect; Dr. Robert Messenger, Charlotte, N.C., treasurer; Dr. Dennis E. Burkett, Newtown, Pa., immediate past president; Sally Powell, West Chester, Pa., recorder; and Dr. Gary L. Stamp, San Antonio, executive director


American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care

Program: The ACVECC conducted its certification examination, held an information session regarding new training guidelines, and installed new officials.
Officials: Drs. Jan Kovacic, Lafayette, Calif., president; Dennis Burkett, Newtown, Pa., president-elect; Elizabeth Rozanski, North Grafton, Mass., vice president; Scott Shaw, North Grafton, Mass., treasurer; Tony Mann, Columbia, Mo., immediate past president; and regents—Drs. Elisa Mazzaferro, Denver; Marc Raffe, Minneapolis; Jim Wohl, Auburn, Ala.; and Pam Wilkins, New Bolton, Pa.

Academy of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Technicians

Program: The 10th certification examination was conducted. The academy also held a pinning ceremony and reception for the class of 2006.
Officials: Leslie Carter, Fort Collins, Colo., president; Elisa Petrollini, Philadelphia, president-elect; and Nancy Shaffran, New York, immediate past president


American College of Veterinary Anesthesiologists

Program: Thirty-four abstracts were presented during the symposium, and Dr. Julie Smith gave the keynote lecture, "Anesthesia and MRI: There is a patient in that magnet." Dr. Smith is medical director and chief of anesthesia at IAMS Pet Imaging Center in Vienna, Va.
New Diplomates: Those who passed the certifying examination conducted Sept. 25-26 are Drs. Tamas Ambrisko, Endrodi, Hungary; Fernandon Garcia-Pereira, East Lansing, Mich.; Daniel Pang, London; Marlis Rezende, Davis, Calif.; Andre Shih, Gainesville, Fla.; and Diane Wilson, Columbus, Ohio.
Officials: Drs. John Dodam, Columbia, Mo., president; David Martin, Kalamazoo, Mich., president-elect; Lydia Donaldson, Middleburg, Va., executive secretary; and Peter Hellyer, Fort Collins, Colo., immediate past president


Academy of Veterinary Technician Anesthetists

Program: The certification examination was conducted and a special lecture track was presented as part of the technician program.
Officials: Larry Nann, Philadelphia, president; Sharon Johnston, Simpsonville, S.C., president-elect; Sharon Kaiser-Klingler, Whitesboro, Texas, treasurer; and Debbie Coleman, Ames, Iowa, immediate past president