Colorado VMA
Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Event: 101st annual meeting, Sept. 8-12, Copper Mountain
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Jim Kennedy, Rocky Ford. A 1979 graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia, Dr. Kennedy is the director of the Rocky Ford branch of Colorado State University's Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratories. He also directs Colorado's Voluntary Bovine Viral Diarrhea Control and Eradication Program, striving to establish Colorado as the nation's first state to be certified BVD-free. With a special interest in bovine, equine, and camelid diseases, Dr. Kennedy assists other veterinarians in the diagnosis of diseases. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Robert Taylor, Centennial. A 1970 graduate of Texas A&M University, Dr. Taylor practices at Alameda East Animal Hospital in Denver. Earlier in his career, he served in the Air Force as base veterinarian at Lowry Air Force Base. A diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons, Dr. Taylor is known for his expertise in canine arthroscopy and veterinary sports surgery and rehabilitation. Rising Star Veterinarian Award: Dr. Erin Epperly, Fowler. A 2007 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Epperly practices at Peak View Animal Hospital. Outstanding Faculty Award: Dr. Kristy Pabilonia, Fort Collins. A 2002 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Pabilonia is an assistant professor in the Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Pathology at Colorado State University's College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences. She also coordinates the Colorado Avian Disease Surveillance Program and has traveled to Indonesia several times during the past year to help develop training programs to manage the outbreak of avian influenza in that country. Technician of the Year: Aimee Potter, Arvada. Potter works in the dermatology department at the Veterinary Referral Center of Colorado. She has served on the executive board of the Colorado Association of Certified Veterinary Technicians and the Professional Development Committee for the veterinary technician track at CVMA conventions since 2002. As a CACVT liaison, Potter has also served on the Colorado Veterinary Medical Foundation board of directors. Industry Partner of the Year: Katie Cornelius, Fort Dodge Animal Health, for continued support of the CVMA and CVMF. Cornelius has been a tireless advocate of the association and helped it serve its members in diverse ways. Fort Dodge's generosity makes possible several events and initiatives, contributing directly to animal health in the state and to the veterinary profession.
Officials: Drs. Melanie Marsden, Colorado Springs, president; Jed Rogers, Denver, president-elect; William Fredregill, Sterling, secretary-treasurer; Tom Parker, Yuma, secretary-treasurer-elect; Stacy Hudelson, Meeker, immediate past president; and Elizabeth Whitney, Fort Collins, and John Rule, Steamboat Springs, AVMA delegate and alternate delegate


Utah VMA


Event: Annual meeting, Sept. 22, Lehi
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Anne Justice-Allen, Smithfield. A 1986 graduate of the University of California-Davis, Dr. Justice-Allen formerly owned a practice in Richfield. She is coordinator of the UVMA Disaster Committee and president of the Utah Emergency Animal Response Coalition. A member of AVMA Veterinary Medical Assistance Team 3, Dr. Justice-Allen helped with efforts during hurricanes Charley and Katrina. Special Service Award: Dr. Larry McGill and Marilyn McGill, Salt Lake City, were honored for their years of dedicated service to the UVMA and AVMA. A 1968 graduate of Oklahoma State University and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists, Dr. McGill works for Animal Reference Pathology Laboratories in Salt Lake City. He chairs the AVMA Member Services Committee. Marilyn McGill is president of the Auxiliary to the AVMA. Lifetime Service Award: Dr. Clell Bagley, Logan. A 1968 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Bagley recently retired after more than 30 years of service as an extension veterinarian at Utah State University.
Officials: Drs. Drew Allen, Salt Lake City, president; Neil Moss, Kaysville, president-elect; Harold Davis, Springville, secretary; Jon Hunter, Spanish Fork, treasurer; and Bruce King, Axtell, immediate past president


Washington State VMA


Event: 96th annual meeting, Sept. 28-30, Yakima
Program: More than 200 veterinarians, veterinary technicians, vendors, and guests attended the meeting. The AVMA's director of marketing, James Flanigan, gave the keynote address on the intersection of economics and adoration in the veterinary profession. Other speakers included Dr. Bernadine Cruz, host of PetCare TV, and Brian Sorge of Chicago, who discussed the impact of gender and generational differences.
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Kenneth R. Sinibaldi, Seattle. A diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Surgeons, Dr. Sinibaldi founded Animal Surgical Clinic of Seattle in 1980. Earlier, he was a staff surgeon in the Department of Orthopedics at the Animal Medical Center in New York. During his career, Dr. Sinibaldi has served as a surgical consultant for the Woodland Park Zoo and the Seattle Police Department's K-9 unit, and as an associate professor of surgery at Ross University. WSU Faculty Member of the Year: Dr. Patrick Gavin, Sandpoint, Idaho, for being one of four charter diplomates of the American College of Veterinary Radiology's Radiation Oncology Specialty. Dr. Gavin has chaired the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences and served as section chief for medical imaging at Washington State University for more than 25 years. Distinguished Achievement Award: Dr. Kathy Haigh, Shelton, for her work on behalf of the veterinary profession, animals, and education. A past president of the WSVMA, Dr. Haigh co-owns Haigh Veterinary Clinic in Shelton. She represents the 35th district in the Washington State House of Representatives. Distinguished Veterinary Staff Award: Karen Henricksen, Yelm, for her dedication and service. A veterinary technician at Yelm Veterinary Hospital, Henricksen volunteers for the 4-H Club, National FFA Organization, and Wolf Haven. Student/Recent Graduate Award: Dr. Blair Burggren, Lacey. A 2003 graduate of Washington State University, Dr. Burggren owns Olympia Pet Emergency in Lacey. Media Award: Charlie Powell, Moscow, Idaho, for dedication to communication in all aspects of the veterinary profession. Powell has served as senior public information officer at Washington State University College of Veterinary Medicine for 18 years. He has also served as public information director for the Washington State VMA for the past 12 years and was a member of the AVMA Task Force on Communication from 2004-2005. Allied Industry Award: Fort Dodge Animal Health, for its support to the veterinary profession and innovation in its products. Life memberships were granted to Drs. Perry Dahlquist, Enumclaw; Gary Duskin, Stanwood; John Q. Mitten, Snohomish; and Everett Macomber, Centralia.
Business: The association revitalized its animal welfare committee. A new corporate identity for the association was unveiled, including the new slogan "The Veterinarians' Voice."
Officials: Dr. Robert Thompson, East Wenatchee, president; Dr. Debi Wallingford, Bellevue, president-elect; Dr. Carrie LaJeunesse, Southworth, 1st vice president; Candace Joy, Issaquah, executive vice president; and Dr. Saundra Willis, Kent, immediate past president