Maine VMA
Published on April 01, 2007
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Event: Annual meeting, Jan. 31, Portland
Awards: Veterinary Service Award: Dr. Ray S. Youmans, Brunswick, for his many years of service to fellow veterinarians. A 1966 graduate of Cornell University, Dr. Youmans practices part time at Sunray Animal Clinic, a practice in Brunswick that he owned until 2004. He is a past president of the Maine VMA and has chaired its Veterinary Wellness Committee since 1985.
Business: Members of the association voted unanimously to request that Maine's congressional delegation seek full funding of the National Veterinary Medical Service Act and passage of the Veterinary Public Health Workforce Expansion Act (see page 972).
Officials: Drs. Anne Del Borgo, Brunswick, president; Kristen Mugnai, Wiscasset, president-elect; Kate Steinhacker, South Portland, secretary; and Pierre Giroux, Gray, treasurer


Virginia VMA


Event: Annual meeting, Feb. 8-11, Roanoke
Awards: Veterinarians of the Year: Drs. Sara Salmon, Charlottesville, and Albert G. Henry III, Lynchburg, for their assistance to the animals affected by Hurricane Katrina and their efforts to develop and make active the Virginia State Animal Response Team. A 1998 graduate of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and the University of Maryland, Dr. Salmon is an intern at the Animal Emergency Center in Milwaukee. Dr. Henry received his D.V.M degree from Louisiana State University in 1985. He co-owns Peaks View Animal Hospital in Lynchburg. Distinguished Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Steven Escobar, Richmond, was honored for his efforts at the Virginia General Assembly on behalf of the veterinary profession and the association. A 1990 graduate of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and the University of Maryland, Dr. Escobar owns Springfield Veterinary Center in Glen Allen.
Officials: Drs. Lauren Keating, Natural Bridge, president; Steven Karras, Roanoke, president-elect; Tom Massie, Washington, Va., vice president; and Kelly Gottschalk, Glen Allen, secretary-treasurer