Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Colorado VMA


Event: 100th annual meeting, Sept. 9-13, Keystone
Program: The centennial celebration was marked with an evening gala, benefiting the Colorado Veterinary Medical Foundation. Also, a panel discussion on the future of veterinary medicine was held during the General Session to mark the occasion, focusing on how education, the workforce, and economic viability issues will impact the veterinary profession. AVMA President Roger K. Mahr and Dr. Elizabeth Curry-Galvin, director of The Scientific Activities Division at the AVMA, were among the featured speakers on the panel.
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Theodore J. Cohn, Denver. A 1975 graduate of Tuskegee University and a past president of the Colorado VMA, Dr. Cohn is a partner at University Hills Animal Hospital. He is a member of the AVMA Executive Board, representing District IX, and served as CVMA's delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates from 2003-2006. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. John K. Young, Golden. A 1967 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Young owns Mobile Veterinary Clinic. President of the Colorado Veterinary Medical Foundation, he has served as president of the CVMA and the Academy of Veterinary Consultants. Up-and-Coming Veterinarian Award: Dr. Jenelle L. Vail, Boulder. A 2003 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Vail practices at the Humane Society of Boulder Valley. Her insights into shelter medicine and providing care to the pets of economically disadvantaged owners have brought her into CVMA leadership discussions. Outstanding Faculty Award: Dr. Hana Van Campen, Fort Collins. A 1984 graduate of Purdue University, Dr. Van Campen is an associate professor in the Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Pathology at Colorado State University. A diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Microbiologists, she heads the virology section of CSU's Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory. Technician-of-the-Year Award: Leslie Rockey, Glenwood Springs. Director of Colorado Animal Rescue, Rockey has previously worked for the Pima County Humane Society in Tucson, Ariz., and as a trainer for Guide Dogs for the Blind. She has volunteered with the Memphis Humane Society, Bonner's Ferry Humane Society, and Best Friends Animal Sanctuary.
Officials: Drs. Stacy Hudelson, Meeker, president; Melanie Marsden, Colorado Springs, president-elect; Jed Rogers, Denver, secretary-treasurer; William Fredregill, Sterling, secretary-treasurer-elect; Todd Towell, Frasier, immediate past president; and Elizabeth Whitney, Fort Collins, and Steven Colter, Fort Collins, AVMA delegate and alternate delegate


Iowa VMA


Event: Annual meeting, Sept. 28-30, Ames
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Arthur Lemley, Plano. A 1964 graduate of Iowa State University, Dr. Lemley was in mixed practice in Cherokee prior to retirement in 2001. Early in his career, he served as a meat inspector for the Army in Fort Douglas, Utah. Meritorious Service Award: Dr. Kenneth Wilcke, Walcott. A 1960 graduate of Iowa State University, Dr. Wilcke owned a practice in Walcott prior to retirement. He is a past president of the Iowa, Eastern Iowa, and Quad Cities VMAs. Dr. Wilcke supports the Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine through lobbying efforts and the establishment of the Wilcke Learning Center on the ISU campus.
Officials: Drs. Frederick Sick, Sioux Center, president; Charles Lemme, Cedar Rapids, president-elect; James West, Ames, vice president; and Darrell Neuberger, Garner, immediate past president


Kentucky VMA


Event: Annual meeting, Oct 6-8, Louisville
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Philip E. Prater, Morehead. A 1984 graduate of The Ohio State University, Dr. Prater serves as an associate professor at Morehead State University. He is a diplomate of the American College of Theriogenology. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Linda K. Grimes, Irvine. A 1988 graduate of Purdue University, Dr. Grimes owns Animal Clinic of Estill County. She was honored for her dedication to animal welfare and the veterinary profession.
Officials: Drs. Aaron Goodpaster, Lawrenceburg, president; Stuart Brown II, Lexington, president-elect; Steven Wills, Owensboro, vice president; and John W. Poe, Midway, secretary-treasurer