Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old



Janice C. Hayes has become the new executive director of the Georgia VMA. She succeeded Beth Monte this spring.

Previously, Hayes consulted for the Georgia Advocacy Office, a nonprofit corporation aiming to protect the rights of people with disabilities. She has served as executive director of the Georgia chapter of The Arc, which also advocates for people with disabilities, and the North Carolina Association of Rehabilitation Facilities.



The alumni council at the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine recently honored three individuals through the 2006 Distinguished Awards program.

Dr. Neil Shaw (FL '93) received the Alumni Achievement Award. He is the co-founder and medical director of Florida Veterinary Specialists and Cancer Treatment Center. Dr. Shaw is a past president of the Hillsborough County VMA and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine.

Dr. Larry Dee (AUB '69) received the Distinguished Service Award. He co-owns Hollywood Animal Hospital in Florida, and he is president of the World Small Animal Veterinary Association. Dr. Dee is a past president of the Florida VMA, American Board of Veterinary Practitioners, and American Animal Hospital Association. He has also served on the advisory council for Florida's veterinary college.

E.T. York, Ph.D., received the Special Service Award. He is a former chancellor of the state university system of Florida. Dr. York was instrumental in establishing Florida's veterinary college. His career at the University of Florida included positions as interim president, provost for agriculture, and vice president for agricultural affairs.