Published on June 15, 2006
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

The University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine honored state Sen. Dallas Sams with the Outstanding Service Award for support of veterinary medicine, dedication to public service, and interest in the mission of the college. He has been a member of the Minnesota Senate since 1990—serving on committees on agriculture, finance, and economic development.

Auburn University's College of Veterinary Medicine has named two graduates as 2006 Wilford S. Bailey Distinguished Alumni for contributions to animal welfare, the profession, and their communities.

Dr. Bill Carlton (AUB '60) taught pathology for more than three decades at Purdue University, retiring in 1995 as a professor emeritus. In 1989, Purdue named him the Leslie Morton Hutchings Distinguished Professor of Veterinary Pathology. In 2004, the American College of Veterinary Pathologists elected him as a distinguished member.

Dr. Albert Corte Jr. (AUB '66) has owned Highland Animal Hospital in Daphne, Ala., since 1969. He is a past president of the Alabama VMA. He helped create the Raleigh and Raylee Angel Ride Foundation in 2002 to raise funds for families of children with debilitating diseases. Also, Daphne named the city animal shelter after him in honor of his commitment to the care of stray animals.

Texas A&M University's College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences honored five alumni who have contributed to society through veterinary medicine.

Dr. Jock R. Collins (TEX '57) practiced for almost four decades after a short career as a federal regulatory veterinarian with the Department of Agriculture. Dr. Collins has devoted much of his time during retirement to the concerns of environment and energy conservation.

Dr. Thomas B. Hairgrove (TEX '74) promotes cooperation between veterinary medicine and the beef industry. He was one of the first practitioners to embrace Texas' Beef Quality Assurance program. Through veterinary associations, he serves on several committees focusing on animal disease and prevention. He also is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners.

Dr. Billy B. Hancock (TEX '51) assisted in testing a vaccine for hog cholera, also known as classical swine fever, at Fort Dodge Laboratories. He was director of production for American Scientific Laboratories and later vice president of production at Fort Dodge. He has been an assistant professor at The Ohio State University. He is also a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Microbiologists.

Dr. D. Reid Patterson (TEX '69) has held a variety of positions in global health care companies. He is now a consultant for companies that test pharmaceuticals for safety. He is a diplomate of the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine, American College of Veterinary Pathologists, and the American Board of Veterinary Toxicology.

Dr. Horace A. "Bud" Smith (TEX '66) joined the Brenham Veterinary Hospital in 1966 and practiced there until 1995. He now works with youth in his community and gives talks to local affiliates of 4-H and the National FFA Organization. He helped form a strategic plan for the Texas veterinary teaching hospital. He serves on the college's development council and the committee for the Rural Veterinary Student Scholarship Fund.

Also at Texas A&M, Dr. Laurie Jaeger (PUR '84) received recognition as a 2006 Piper Professor from the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation. The award annually recognizes outstanding Texas professors and carries a $5,000 honorarium. Dr. Jaeger is an associate professor who joined the Texas A&M faculty in 1991. She is also a member of the AVMA Council on Education.