Tennessee VMA
Published on May 01, 2006
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Event: Annual meeting, March 17-19, Nashville
Awards: Outstanding Practitioner Award: Dr. Jerry McMillan, Gallatin. A 1977 graduate of Auburn University, Dr. McMillan owns McMillan Veterinary Clinic. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Randy Hammon, Chattanooga. A 1982 graduate of the University of Tennessee, Dr. Hammon co-owns Northgate Animal Hospital. President of the TVMA, he developed and chaired the first Veterinary Peer Review Committee in the nation. Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Jerry G. Burch, Collierville. A 1968 graduate of Auburn University, Dr. Burch is a partner at Collierville Animal Clinic. He is also the clinic's president, and has served as regional and state representative and chaired the executive board of the Christian Veterinary Mission. Outstanding Faculty Member Award: Dr. Gregory P. Daniel, Knoxville. A 1983 graduate of Auburn University, Dr. Daniel serves as professor and director of radiological services at the University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine. He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Radiology. Young Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Kristi Lively, Knoxville. A 1999 graduate of the University of Tennessee, Dr. Lively co-owns the Village Veterinary Clinic and Laser Center. She serves as president of the Kentucky VMA and is a diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners.
Executive director of the TVMA, Dee Ann Walker was honored for her 25 years of service to the association.
Officials: Drs. Randy Hammon, Chattanooga, president; Chuck Halford, Memphis, president-elect; Mary Ergen, Goodletsville, vice president; and Bo Crabtree, Gallatin, secretary-treasurer


Oregon VMA


Event: Annual meeting, March 3-5, Corvallis
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Paul Jones, Woodburn. A 1974 graduate of The Ohio State University, Dr. Jones is a partner at Woodburn Veterinary Clinic, treating camelid and exotic animal patients. He chairs the OVMA State Fair Committee and encourages veterinarians to be ambassadors for the profession. Dr. Jones is immediate past president of the American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners and its alternate delegate to the AVMA House of Delegates. Meritorious Service Award: Dr. Jerry Boggs, Eugene. A 1974 graduate of Purdue University and a past president of the OVMA, Dr. Boggs owns Bush Animal Hospital. He chairs the board of trustees of the Oregon Animal Foundation, and helps to coordinate practice externships at Oregon State University. He has held every elected office in the Lane County VMA more than once. Practice/Office Manager of the Year: Linda Parisotto, Burns. Parisotto is office manager at Harney County Veterinary Clinic, where she was the first full-time employee. Technician of the Year: Leah Kennon, Ridgefield, Wash. Kennon is operations and clinic director for the Feral Cat Coalition of Oregon, which provides spay and neuter services in feral cat clinics. Veterinary Service Award: The Oregon Humane Society was recognized for its contributions to animals in need. The society is the flagship shelter in the state, serving the needs of more than 13,000 animals each year. Dedicated to adopting out 100 percent of its animals, the shelter is known nationally for its investigative team, which has assisted abused and neglected animals.
Officials: Drs. Linda Blythe, Corvallis, president; Jacqui Nielson, Portland, president-elect; Scott Loepp, Portland, vice president; and Jay Fineman, Newport, treasurer