Montana VMA
Published on April 15, 2006
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Event: Winter meeting, Jan. 28-29, Bozeman
Program: There were 200 attendees. Speakers covered topics including asset protection, small animal and equine ophthalmology, feline medicine, hoof form/hoof function, bovine respiratory disease, and reproductive ultrasound in beef-cow practice.
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. Thomas F.T. Linfield, Helena. A 1983 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Linfield has served as state veterinarian since 2003. Earlier in his career, he practiced in Drummond, Livingston, Bridger, and Belt, all in Montana. Distinguished Service Award: Dr. Jack Ward, Hamilton. A 1958 graduate of Washington State University, Dr. Ward owns a practice in Hamilton. He has co-directed a three-year research study on weak calf syndrome and conducted clinical field trials and investigations for firms and research groups. Dr. Ward is a past president of the Montana VMA. Up-and-Coming Practitioner Award: Dr. Britt Culver, Helena. A 1993 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Culver practices at Montana Veterinary Specialists Clinic, co-established with his wife, Dr. Brenda Culver, who is also a 1993 graduate of CSU. He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine.
Officials: Drs. Patti Ethridge, Bigfork, president; Gary Cassel, Cut Bank, president-elect; Duane Colmey, Livingston, vice president; Sherri Nash, Harlowton, secretary-treasurer; and Marc Mattix, Bozeman, immediate past president


New Jersey VMA


Event: Annual meeting, March 3-5, Florham Park
Awards: Distinguished Service Award: Drs. Martha O'Rourke, Toms River; Marguerite Hoey, Kearney; and Marilyn Weber, Lake Como. A 1966 graduate of Kansas State University, Dr. O'Rourke owns Small Animal Veterinary Associates in Toms River. She is a past president of the NJVMA and serves on the AVMA Group Health and Life Insurance Trust. A 1988 graduate of Michigan State University, Dr. Hoey works at the Arlington Dog and Cat Hospital in Kearney. She chairs the NJVMA Communication Committee and is a member of the NJVMA Public Relations Committee. Dr. Hoey also serves on the New Jersey Veterinary Foundation Student Scholarship and Animal Hall of Fame committees. A 1975 graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, Dr. Weber owns Sea Girt Animal Hospital in Sea Girt. She chairs the New Jersey Veterinary Foundation and is a member of its Animal Hall of Fame Committee. Robert R. Shomer Award: Dr. Jenine Avelini, Eatontown, won this award, given to a young veterinarian who has brought credit to the veterinary profession. A 2000 graduate of Ross University in St. Kitts, Dr. Avelini practices at Red Bank Veterinary Hospital. In the wake of Hurricane Katrina, she took an unpaid leave of absence and traveled to Mississippi, where she worked as a volunteer and assisted in the treatment of displaced animals.
Officials: Drs. Kim Taylor, Somers Point, president; Barry Adler, Woodbridge, president-elect; R. Wayne Randolph, Flemington, treasurer; and Susan Lewis, South Dennis, past president