Published on April 15, 2006
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old



At the American Association of Swine Veterinarians' annual meeting in March, three members received recognition for their contributions to the association and to the swine industry.

Dr. Mark FitzSimmons (MIN '87), Eagle Lake, Minn., is the 2006 Swine Practitioner of the Year. The association's highest honor recognizes swine practitioners who demonstrate exceptional service to their veterinary clients. Dr. FitzSimmons is the owner of MAF Veterinary Services, a swine consulting practice, and a partner in Protein Sources, a family agriculture business. Previously, he worked for Swine Graphics in Webster City, Iowa. He was also an early adopter of serum therapy for control of porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome.

Dr. James E. CollinsDr. James E. Collins (MIN '78), White Bear Lake, Minn., received the Howard Dunne Memorial Award for outstanding service to the association and the swine industry. Dr. Collins is director of the University of Minnesota Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory. He has served the swine industry through pioneering research on PRRS, and he chaired the AASV subcommittee on PRRS from 1995-1997. He has held leadership positions with the American Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians, the North Central Association of Veterinary Laboratory Diagnosticians, and the Minnesota VMA.

Dr. Catherine E. DeweyDr. Catherine E. Dewey (ONT '79), Guelph, Ontario, received the Meritorious Service Award for the time and effort she has given to the association. Dr. Dewey is a professor in the Department of Population Medicine at the Ontario Veterinary College, University of Guelph. She is also the executive editor of the Journal of Swine Health and Production. Active in the AASV since 1984, Dr. Dewey serves on the Committee on Continuing Education. She has served on planning committees for the annual meeting, and she co-chaired the committee on collegiate activities from 1994-1998.

The American College of Veterinary Microbiologists inducted T.G. Nagaraja, PhD, as an honorary diplomate in December 2005. He is a professor of microbiology at the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine.

Dr. Lance E. PerrymanDr. Lance E. Perryman, dean of the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, was named the 41st president of the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges in March.

Dr. Perryman graduated in 1970 from Washington State University. He is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists. Dr. Perryman has served as a professor in the Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology at WSU and as associate dean for research and graduate studies. He also was a professor and head of the Department of Microbiology, Pathology, and Parasitology at North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine.

Dr. Perryman serves on the AVMA/AAVMC Joint Committee, which monitors changes in, and the future direction of, veterinary medicine in North America.




Cornell University's College of Veterinary Medicine recently named Dr. Maria Julia Bevilaqua Felippe Flaminio (BOT '89) as the first Harry M. Zweig Assistant Professor in Equine Health.

The three-year honor goes to a junior faculty member who shows promise and productivity in the field of equine research.

Dr. Flaminio joined the Department of Clinical Sciences in 2001. She is a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine.