Delaware VMA
Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

Event: Annual meeting, Dec. 14, 2005, Dover
Awards: Veterinarian of the Year: Dr. John Gooss, Georgetown. A 1990 graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, Dr. Gooss co-owns Georgetown Animal Hospital. He has served on the Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine for the past six years, working on the licensing of veterinary technicians. Under his leadership, the board undertook a survey of the stakeholders to address the legislative issues and workforce needs for veterinary technicians. Recognition plaque: Dr. H. Wesley Towers Jr., Harrington, for his more than 35 years of service at the Delaware Department of Agriculture. A 1968 graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, Dr. Towers served as state veterinarian from 1969-2005. During his career, he also worked as track veterinarian at Harrington, Georgetown, and Dover Downs raceways. He is a past president of the United States Animal Health Association.
Officials: Drs. Michelle Egli, Dover, president; Jeffrey Bowersox, Wilmington, president-elect; Kim Chappell, Millsboro, vice president; Kimberly Gaines, Dover, secretary-treasurer; and E. Mitchell Arion, Goldsboro, Md., immediate past president


Texas VMA


Event: Annual meeting, Feb. 3-5, College Station. Attendees included 336 veterinarians and 54 veterinary students.
Awards: Distinguished Career Achievement Practitioner of the Year: Dr. S. Kent Glenn, Graham. A 1976 graduate of Colorado State University, Dr. Glenn practices at Aledo Veterinary Clinic. During his more than 30-year career, he has been involved in youth educational and leadership activities, and is dedicated to teaching students the technologies and skills involved in animal care reproduction. Dr. Glenn assisted with displaced pets after the recent hurricanes on the Gulf Coast. Recent Graduate Practitioner of the Year: Dr. Tricia Latimer, Mansfield. A 2002 graduate of Texas A&M University, Dr. Latimer practices at Walnut Creek Animal Clinic. She is recognized for the bond she forms with animals and their owners, the mentoring abilities she has displayed toward younger associates, and her effective communication skills as a professional. Dr. Latimer has changed protocols for pain management and parasite control at the clinic. Companion Animal Practitioner of the Year: Dr. J. Alfred Moore, Humble. A 1967 graduate of Texas A&M University, Dr. Moore established Eastex Veterinary Clinic in 1970. He practices small animal medicine with an emphasis on clinical diagnostics and therapeutics, and has an interest in continuing education. Medical Specialty Practitioner of the Year: Dr. Robert Radasch, Dallas. A 1984 graduate of the University of Illinois, Dr. Radasch is a partner and chief executive officer at the Dallas Veterinary Surgical Center. He conducts educational seminars and laboratories for veterinarians at the local, state, national, and international level. Equine Practitioner of the Year: Dr. Gene White, Roanoke. A 1966 graduate of Texas A&M University, Dr. White has owned an equine practice since 1966 and is involved with initiatives that include the TVMA Equine Practice Committee. General Practitioner of the Year: Dr. Robert Steve Wilson, Tyler. A 1971 graduate of Texas A&M University, Dr. Wilson owns Glenwood Animal Hospital. He also serves as the head veterinarian for the veterinary services section of the Caldwell Zoo in Tyler, and has consulted with the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. President's Award: Drs. Daniel Posey and Deborah Kochevar of College Station. A 1982 graduate of Texas A&M University, Dr. Posey is clinical assistant professor in the Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences at TAMU. He was recognized for his contributions to the large animal continuing education programs offered by the TVMA. A 1981 graduate of Texas A&M University, Dr. Kochevar is associate dean for professional programs at the TAMU College of Veterinary Medicine. She was recognized for her contributions and advancement of student involvement with the TVMA and its membership.
Business: The board of directors discussed several topics, including the National Animal Identification System; new continuing education regulations and requirements; and Texas veterinarians, Drs. Charles Anderson and Jimmy D. Aycock running for the Texas House of Representatives. TVMA committees met to discuss initiatives such as the TVMA liaison with the AVMA, stressing cooperation between both associations; and disaster preparedness being conducted by the TVMA and the Texas Veterinary Medical Foundation.
Officials: Dr. Guy Sheppard, San Angelo, president; Dr. Mark Cox, El Paso, president-elect; Elbert C. Hutchins, EdD, Austin, secretary; Dr. Ronald O. Stried, Austin, treasurer; and Dr. Roland Lenarduzzi, Manvel, immediate past president