Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

American College of Veterinary Radiology

Dr. John MattoonEvent: Annual meeting, Nov. 30-Dec. 3, 2005, Chicago
Program: More than 270 members registered for the meeting, which featured almost 60 papers, five keynote addresses, and two in-depth forums on all aspects of diagnostic imaging and radiation oncology.
Awards: Resident-authored Paper Award: Dr. Robert Cole, Bryan, Texas, for "Transsplenic portal scintigraphy in dogs."
Diplomates: Twenty-three new diplomates were welcomed into the ACVR in 2005. They are as follows: Radiology – Drs. Robert Cole, Bryan, Texas; Sloan H. Dupree, Raleigh, N.C.; Eric A. Ferrell, Maitland, Fla.; Anthony Fischetti, New York; Silke Hecht, Knoxville, Tenn.; Hock Gan Heng, Selangor, Malaysia; Eric G. Johnson, Davis, Calif.; Alan Lipman, Portland, Ore.; Anthony P. Pease, Raleigh, N.C.; Elissa Randall, Fort Collins, Colo.; Jaime Sage, Columbus, Ohio; Travis Saveraid, St. Paul, Minn.; Gustavo Sepulveda, Alpharetta, Ga.; Todd Smithenson, Kirkland, Wash.; Tonya Tromblee, Blacksburg, Va.; and Sandy Wang, Parker, Colo.; Radiation oncology – Drs. Elizabeth M. Brown, North Grafton, Mass.; Blaise Burke, Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.; Michele Cohen, Staten Island, N.Y.; Nancy R. Gustafson, Springfield, Va.; David M. Lurie, Gainesville, Fla.; David R. Proulx, San Marcos, Calif.; and Philip Treuil, Dallas
Officials: Drs. John Mattoon, Columbus, Ohio, president; Bill Hornof, Davis, Calif.; president-elect; and Ron Burk, Cooper City, Fla., past president

Rhode Island VMA

Pamela Hood and Dr. Courtney RebensdorfEvent: Annual meeting, Aug. 9, 2005, Providence
Awards: Animals' Best Friend Award: Pamela Hood, Providence, won this award, given in appreciation of humane efforts by nonveterinarians on behalf of animals. Founder of Sweet Binks Rabbit Rescue Inc., Hood cares for more than 70 rabbits and educates the community and rabbit owners on rabbit health and behavior.
Officials: Drs. Courtney Rebensdorf, Cranston, president; David Sweet, East Greenwich, president-elect; Susan Newell, East Greenwich, secretary; Christopher Hannafin, Providence, treasurer; and Henry Wietsma, North Kingstown, past president