Veterinary pathologists hold joint meetings

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. Gary A. Boorman presents ACVP Scientific Achievement Award to Dr. Tracey McNamara. (Dr. Keith Steele was co-recipient.)

Event: American College of Veterinary Pathologists, American Society for Veterinary Clinical Pathology, 51st and 35th joint annual meetings, respectively, Dec 1-6, 2000, Amelia Island, Fla.
Program: The program included hands-on experience in laser-capture microdissection techniques and the use of molecular genetics in understanding the function of disease genes.

Ten veterinary students from North Carolina State University in Raleigh participated in the meeting. Their trip was partially funded by the college's Selective program, in which veterinary students take two weeks of elective courses at the end of the fall and spring semesters. The balance of their funding came from fund raisers organized through the student pathology club, known as the Path Heads. Several students said attending the program opened their eyes to the wide range of careers available to veterinary pathologists. For more information on starting a Path Heads group, contact NCSU club president Catherine Gagner (cagagneratunity [dot] ncsu [dot] edu (cagagner[at]unity[dot]ncsu[dot]edu)) or Dr. Mac Law (mac_lawatncsu [dot] edu (mac_law[at]ncsu[dot]edu)).

American College of Veterinary Pathologists
Awards: Scientific Achievement Award: Dr. Tracey McNamara, Wildlife Conservation Society (Bronx Zoo), NY, and Dr. Keith Steele, Experimental Pathology Laboratory at USAMRIID, Fort Detrick, Md, for their contributions during the West Nile virus outbreak last year.

Dr. Nancy Stedman
Dr. Nancy Stedman

Young Investigator Award: category of naturally occurring disease, first place: Nancy L. Stedman, University of Georgia: "Severe acariasis in captive psittacines in the southeastern United States"; Second place: Ellen Maria Pestili de Almedia, Universite de Montreal: "Expression of COX-2 in canine squamous cell carcinomas"; Third place: Kyra L. Somers, Colorado State University: "Mutation analysis of feline Nieman-Pick Type C disease"; Category of experimentally induced disease, first place: Shashi K. Ramaiah, University of Florida: "Protein adduct formation by norocaine nitroxide, an N-oxidative metabolite of cocaine"; Second place: Krista La Perle, The Ohio State University: "Detection of metastatic MATLyLu prostate tumors by retroviral-mediated gene transfer of the Na+/I- symporter using whole body imaging in rats"; Third place: Laura Perkins, USDA/ARS/Southeast Poultry Research Laboratory: "Comparative pathology and pathogenesis of A/chicken/Hong Kong/220/97 (H5N1) avian influenza in chickens, geese and ducks." Harold W. Casey Memorial Scholarship, an award that recognizes pathology trainees seeking ACVP board certification: Dr. Nancy L. Stedman, University of Georgia. Her research focused on the molecular virology and immunology of the J virus in chickens.
Officers: Dr. Steven E. Weisbrode, Columbus, Ohio president; Dr. Margaret M. Miller, Columbia, Mo, vice president/president-elect; Dr. Paul C. Stromberg, Columbus, Ohio, secretary-treasurer; and Dr. Gary A. Boorman, Raleigh-Durham, NC, immediate past president

Dr. Steven E. Weisbrode
Dr. Steven E. Weisbrode

New diplomates: The ACVP recognized 46 new diplomates on successful completion of the certifying examination in Ames, Iowa, Sept 20-21, 2000. Certified as veterinary anatomic pathologists were Drs. Lavun R. Anothayanonotha, West Lafayette, Ind; Keith L. Bailey, Champaign, Ill; Uriel Blas-Machado, Frederick, Md; Elizabeth L. Buckles, Woodland, Calif; Bernard S. Buetow, Edmonds, Wash; Cindy E. Fishman, Indianapolis; Laura A. Gumprecht, Upper Black Eddy, Pa; Roberto E. Guzman, Urbana, Ill; Sarah L. Hale, McLean, Va; Kristin M. Hasel, Pullman, Wash; Michael L. Hawes, Shewsbury, Mass; Christopher D. Houle, Apex, NC; Matthew C. Jacobson, Ithaca, NY; Todd O. Johnson, Columbia, Md; Tammy L. Johnson, Virginia Beach, Va; Matti Kiupel, Lafayette, Ind; Martin Lamb, Media, Pa; Michael J. Linn, New York, NY; Mark J. McArthur, Bryan, Texas; Brad L. Njaa, West Lafayette, Ind; Adelekan Oyejide, Mission Viejo, Calif; Madhav Gajanan Paranjpe, Louisville, Ky; Allan P. Pessier, Berwyn, Ill; Lynette A. Phillips, Madison, Wis; Annabella M. Pocknell, Hatfield, Herts, UK; Evelyne Weber Polack, Urbana, Ill; Stephen A. Raverty, Vancouver, BC, Canada; Drury R. Reavill, Citrus Heights, Calif; Rani S. Sellers, Columbus, Ohio; Barbara J. Shepard, Malden, Mass; Sionagh H. Smith, Philadelphia; Edward L. Stevens, Rockville, Md; Lindsay Tomlinson, Raleigh, NC; Claudine Tremblay, St Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada; Loudan D. Yantis Jr, San Antonio; and Laura S. Zwick, Howell, Mich.

Certified as veterinary clinical pathologists were Drs. Anne M. Barger, Apex, NC; Agatha M. Boisvert, Lansing, Mich; Jennifer J. Donald, Columbia, Mo; Karen Gerber Hayes, Hatfield, Herts, UK; Jean-Sebastien Latouche, Clackamas, Ore; Bruce E. LeRoy, Columbus, Ohio; Leo J. McSherry, Gainesville, Fla; Florence M. Poitout-Belissent, Bellevue, Wash; Jacqueline M-Tarrant, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia; and Judith A. Taylor, Guelph, Ontario, Canada.

American Society for Veterinary Clinical Pathology
Awards: Young Investigator Award: Dr. Leo J. McSherry, Gainesville, Fla, for his presentation "Cloning and expression of the gene encoding the major antigenic protein 2 homolog of Ehrlichia canis and potential application for serodiagnosis." Awards for lifetime membership: John Kramer, Pullman, Wash, and Harvey Gosser, Columbia, Mo.
Officers: Dr. Jeanne George, Davis, Calif, president; Dr. Eric Schultze, Greenfield, Ind, president-elect; Dr. Jennifer Thomas, College Station, Tex, secretary; Dr. Steve Gaunt, Baton Rouge, La, treasurer; and Dr. Claire Andreasen, Ames, Iowa, immediate past president. New Laboratory Manager officers are Chair Ellen Willet, Columbus, and Co-Chair Betty Thompson, Davis.