Board approves council, committee changes

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old

The Executive Board approved a recommendation revising the membership categories and appointment methods to the Animal Welfare Committee to better represent the opinions of the allied groups in the AVMA House of Delegates. Dr. James E. Nave, AVMA president, called for the changes during his address to the HOD last July.

The AAVMC, AAHA, AABP, AAV, ASLAP, AAEP, AASV, AAIV, and AAAP are new categories replacing what were formerly areas of species or discipline representation. The AASRP and AAFP are entirely new categories. The existing "humane or animal welfare organizations" category can now be a veterinarian or nonveterinarian. The Student AVMA, "government services," and "zoo and wildlife medicine" categories were retained.

The board also approved a number of recommendations from the Long-Range Planning Committee regarding several AVMA councils and committees. Minor revisions were made to the charges of the Council on Research and Council on Education, Committee on Wellness, Long-Range Planning Committee, and Member Services Committee.

Executive Board members are to use a Meeting Summary Report to explain board actions on issues relevant to their constituent groups. These tailored reports should be disseminated as soon as is appropriate after Executive Board meetings.

A task force will be commissioned to review the structure and charge of the Committee on Environmental Affairs, to enhance the committee's ability to address the environmental issues and concerns of the veterinary profession.

A Bylaws amendment will be initiated to restructure the membership of the Council on Biologic and Therapeutic Agents to comprise one representative from each of the following areas of veterinary activity: microbiology; immunology; pharmacology; clinical pharmacology; small animal clinical practice; food animal clinical practice; equine clinical practice; epidemiology; industry-exclusive; and aquaculture/seafood medicine; plus two at-large members.

The Drug Advisory Committee was recomposed and renamed the Clinical Practitioners Advisory Committee to COBTA. Membership comprises the chair, a COBTA member, and a clinical practitioner from each of the following associations: AAHA; AAAP; AABP; AAEP; AAFP; AASRP; AASV; and AAZWV. Each organization will nominate a clinical practitioner to serve as its representative, who must then be approved by the Executive Board.

The terms of the members of the Leadership Conference Planning Committee were changed from 1-year to staggered 3-year terms. Composition of the committee was revised to comprise one member from each of the following: Executive Board, Council on Public Relations; American Society of Veterinary Medical Association Executives; recent graduate; constituent association officer; and the House Advisory Committee.

The position representing the American Association of Veterinary State Boards on the ECFVG was discontinued, and a new position was created for a member of a state licensing board to be appointed by the Executive Board.

The following entities will continue through 2006: Council on Research, Council on Veterinary Service, Judicial Council, American Board of Veterinary Specialties, and the Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates. The Committee on Wellness will continue for three years, with a comprehensive audit review to be conducted in 2003.

The AVMA-USDA Relations Committee will continue until restructuring of the accreditation program is complete, at which time a task force will be formed on an as-needed basis determined by the Executive Board.

An AVMA Group Health and Life Insurance Trust representative should attend Committee on Wellness meetings to strengthen communication and develop a comprehensive wellness plan.

The $200 annual assessment fee to specialty organizations represented by the American Board of Veterinary Specialties will be discontinued. Also, beginning in the spring of 2002, the ABVS can meet for a third day during its annual meeting if needed.