American College of Veterinary Pathologists

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
50th American College of Veterinary Pathologists Council
The 50th American College of Veterinary Pathologists Council: Dr. Paul C. Stromberg (secretary/treasurer), Dr. Donald J. Meuten (councillor), Dr. N. J. MacLachlan, Dr. D. Reid Patterson (immediate past president), Dr. Mary Anna Thrall (councillor), Dr. Gary A. Boorman (president), Dr. Wanda M. Haschek-Hock (councillor), Dr. H. Davis (in rear), and Dr. M. A. Miller.

Event: 50th anniversary meeting, Nov 16-19, 1999, Chicago.
A gala celebration was held at the Shedd Aquarium and Oceanarium in Chicago to mark the occasion of the ACVP's anniversary. Nobel laureate Dr. Peter C. Doherty was guest lecturer.
Officers: Dr. Gary A. Boorman, Research Triangle Park, NC, president; Dr. Steven E. Weisbrode, Columbus, Ohio, vice president/president-elect; Dr. Paul C. Stromberg, Columbus, Ohio, secretary/treasurer; and councillors — Drs. Donald J. Meuten, Raleigh, NC; Wanda M. Haschek-Hock, Urbana, Ill; Mary Anna Thrall, Gill, Colo; and R. Keith Harris, Skokie, Ill
Awards: Twenty-two posters were judged in the Young Investigator Awards competition. First ($500), second ($300), and third ($200) places were awarded in two categories. The first category was Naturally Occurring Disease; First Place: Joy Atkin, Armed Forces Institute of Pathology and Marine Mammal Stranding Center (co-authors: T. Lipscomb, J. Taubenberger, R. Moeller, and R. Schoelkopf), "Novel morbillivirus associated with disease in a long-finned pilot whale"; Second Place: Kelli Boyd, University of Georgia (co-authors: E. Howerth, D. Hall, D. Bounous, and C. Jones), "Acute megakaryoblastic leukemia in a dog"; and Third Place: Kazusaku Kamiya, University of Tokyo (co-authors: T. Momoi, K. Kitamura, S. Kawamura, and Y. Yoshikawa), "Regeneration of the auditory neurons and hair cells after apoptosis in young C3H/HeJ mouse."

Drs. Sellers and Rosol
Dr. Rani Sellers (left), nominated by Dr. T. J. Rosol (right), received the Harold W. Casey Memorial Scholarship.

The second awards category was Experimentally Induced Disease; First Place: Karrie Brenneman, Chemical Industry Institute of Toxicology (co-authors: D. Meleason, R. A. James, and D. Dorman), "Nasal lesions following acute inhalation exposure to hydrogen sulfide (H2S) in adult male CD rats"; Second Place (tie): Krista La Perle, The Ohio State University (co-authors: S. Jhiang, and C. Capen), "Papillary thyroid carcinomas exhibit anaplasia and local tissue invasion but do not metastasize in ret/PTC1 transgenic mice deficient in p53"; Second Place (tie): Rani Sellers, The Ohio State University (co-authors: S. Tannehill-Gregg, C. Capen, and T. Rosol), "CIS-acting elements in the 3´-untranslated and coding regions of parathyroid hormone-related protein (PTHrP) mRNA mediate transforming growth factor-beta (TGF-B) induced stability."

Sixth annual Harold W. Casey Memorial Scholarship: Dr. Rani S. Sellers, Columbus, Ohio, is in her fourth year of training in veterinary pathology at The Ohio State University. Her research focuses on the pathogenesis of humoral hypercalcemia of malignancy. The $750 scholarship rewards outstanding individuals training in pathology and striving to achieve ACVP board certification.
Business: The editorial office of the college's journal, Veterinary Pathology, was transferred from Dr. James F. Zachary, Urbana, Ill, who was editor-in-chief from 1993 to 1999, to Dr. Donna Kusewitt, Jefferson, Ariz, who will be editor-in-chief from 2000 to 2004.

Dr. Peter C. Doherty, St Jude Children's Research Hospital, Memphis, Tenn, was installed as an honorary member.

For announcement of new diplomates, see related story.