Conference on Research Workers in Animal Diseases

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
Dr. & Mrs. Easterday
Dr. Bernard C. Easterday, dedicatee of the 1999 Conference of Research Workers in Animal Diseases, and his wife, Charlene

Event: 80th annual meeting, Nov 7-9, 1999, Chicago, attended by 606 registrants, including 194 members, 221 students, and 191 guests. Attendees presented 230 scientific papers and 139 scientific posters. Current membership is 527, including 105 life members and 422 members. Nine new life members and 12 new members were inducted into CRWAD.
Awards: Dedicatee: Dr. Bernard C. Easterday. After graduating from the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine in 1952, he served in the US Army Veterinary Corps. His duties entailed working on rinderpest and African swine fever in Kenya for several years. He completed his graduate studies in 1961, earning a PhD degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison while remaining involved with the Army veterinary corps at Fort Detrick, Md.

In 1961, Dr. Easterday joined the faculty of the Department of Veterinary Science at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, eventually rising to the rank of professor and serving as department chairman from 1969-1974. In 1979, he was appointed dean of the School of Veterinary Medicine, a position he held until his retirement in 1994.

Dr. Easterday's impact on young researchers was most profound in the area of influenza viruses. He also has had an influence on the veterinary profession through the many committees on which he has served.

His impact also has been felt at CRWAD. He has been a member for 38 years. He became a council member in 1969 and served as president in 1974. He was instrumental in developing the Dedicatee Award to honor CRWAD life members, and he presented the first such award to Dr. William R. Hinshaw in 1974. He also had the honor of giving the introductory speech for the 1993 dedicatee, Dr. E. O. Haelterman.

Awards from the American Association of Veterinary Immunologists: Distinguished Veterinary Immunologist Award: Wendy Brown, PhD, Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology, Washington State University. Dr. Brown's research focuses on the cellular immune response to viral and protozoan infectious diseases in cattle.

Graduate Student Awards: Oral, first place: R. A. Valdez, Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology, Washington State University: "Selective and Functional Long-Term in Vivo Depletion of CD4+ T Lymphocytes from Thymectomized Calves, Using a Monoclonal Antibody"; Oral, second place: M. J. Sylte, Department of Pathobiological Sciences, University of Wisconsin-Madison: "Haemophilus somnus Lipopolysaccharide Induces Apoptosis of Bovine Pulmonary Artery Endothelial Cells"; Poster, first place: K. Hooper-McGrevy, University of Guelph: "The role of Immunoglobulin in Hyperimmune Plasma in Protection following Rhodococcus equi Challenge of Foals"; Poster, second place: L. Yuan, Food Animal Health Research Program, OARDC, The Ohio State University: "Evaluation of Memory B Cell Responses in Intestinal and Systemic Lymphoid Tissues and Association with Protective Immunity in Gnotobiotic Pigs Challenged with Rotavirus."

Comparative Gastroenterology Society Award: Roberto M. C. Guedes, Department of Veterinary Pathobiology, University of Minnesota: "Comparison of Different Methods for Diagnosis of Porcine Proliferative Enteropathy."

Avian Medicine, M. S. Hofstad Award: J. E. Gaunson, School of Veterinary Science, University of Melbourne: "Local Immune Responses to Pathogenic and Vaccine Strains of Mycoplasma gallisepticum."

American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine Award: Nora E. Mateus-Pinella, Department of Veterinary Pathobiology, University of Illinois-Urbana: "Dynamic Simulation Model for the Transmission of Toxoplasma gondii on Swine Farms: Evaluating the Effectiveness of Feline T gondii Vaccine."

Drs. Salman & Mateus-Pinella
Dr. M. D. Salman (right), immediate past president of CRWAD and a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine, congratulates Dr. Nora Mateus-Pinella on her ACVPM award.

American College of Veterinary Microbiologists awards: Graduate Student Outstanding Poster Award: I. Kanevsky, Department of Veterinary Sciences, Pennsylvania State University: "Genetic relationship among Pathogenic Staphylococcus aureus Strains"; Outstanding Bacteriology Award: C. M. Rolfes, University of Nebraska-Lincoln: "Development of Methods to Recover E coli O157:H7 and Salmonella spp from feedlot Pen Environmental Samples"; Virology Award: M. Kiupel, Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory, Purdue University: "Lesions in Balb/C Mice Infected with Porcine Circovirus (PCV) Isolated from a Pig with Multisystemic Wasting Syndrome (PMWS)"; Immunology Award: S. Jeyaseelan, College of Veterinary Medicine, University of Minnesota: "LFA-1 (CD11a/CD18) is a Receptor for Pasteurella haemolytica Leukotoxin"; Outstanding Graduate Student Award (Don Kahn Award): C. Malazdrewich, Department of Clinical and Population Sciences, College of Veterinary Medicine, University of Minnesota: "Proinflammatory Cytokine Expression in Experimental Bovine Pneumonic Pasteurellosis."
Officers: Dr. Leon N. D. Potgieter, University of Tennessee, president; Dr. Linda J. Saif, The Ohio State University, vice president; Dr. M. D. Salman, Colorado State University; immediate past president; Robert P. Ellis, PhD, Colorado State University, executive director; and council members: Dr. Franklin A. Ahrens, Iowa State University; Dr. Katherine M. Kocan, Oklahoma State University; Dr. Janet MacInnes, University of Guelph, and Dr. Ian A. Gardner, University of California-Davis
Business meeting: The first issue of "Animal Health Research Reviews" is scheduled for publication in June 2000. The CRWAD has a new logo. Bylaws were amended to create a category for students (membership fee of $30 annually; they will be student members for the year immediately following the meeting at which they are approved for membership).
Contact: Information on membership and the 2000 annual meeting, Nov 12-14 in Chicago, may be obtained from CRWAD Executive Director Robert P. Ellis, PhD, Department of Microbiology, College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO 80523-1677; phone, (970) 491-5740; e-mail, rellisatcvmbs [dot] colostate [dot] edu (rellis[at]cvmbs[dot]colostate[dot]edu). The CRWAD meeting in 2001 will be held Nov 11-13, but the site has not been determined. St Louis is a leading candidate. Abstracts can be submitted electronically to the Web site.

Proceedings of the CRWAD meeting may be purchased by contacting Iowa State University Press, 2121 S State Ave, Ames, IA 50014. The CRWAD Web address is