American Association of Zoo Veterinarians

Published on
information-circle This article is more than 3 years old
AAZV Officers
Dr. Richard Montali (left) receives the Dolensek Award for exceptional contributions to the care and understanding of zoo and free-ranging wildlife from Dr. James Carpenter, former president of the AAZV.

Event: Annual meeting, Oct 9-14, Columbus, Ohio
Awards: Emil Dolensek Award: Dr. Richard Montali, National Zoo, Washington, DC, for exceptional contributions to the conservation, care, and understanding of zoo and free-ranging wildlife. First Annual Duane E. Ullrey Achievement Award: Dr. Duane Ullrey, in "grateful appreciation for his exceptional achievements in the science of wild animal health and service to AAZV." The Telinject Post-Graduate Manuscript Competition: Dr. Jodie Sherrill for her paper, "Mortality of Common Cuttlefish at the National Zoological Park." The Wildlife Pharmaceuticals/AAZV Student Manuscript Competition, first place: Lauren Howard, for her paper, "Fenbendazole and Albendazole Toxicity in Pigeons and Doves"; second place: Amy Rae Gandolf, for her presentation "Management of a Melting Corneal Ulcer in a Greater One-Horned Rhinoceros." Officers: Dr. Michael Barrie, Oklahoma City, president; Dr. Scott Citino, Yulee, Fla, president-elect; Dr. Ray Wack, Columbus, Ohio, vice president; Dr. Randy Junge, St Louis, secretary; Dr. Nadine Lamberski, Columbia, SC, treasurer; and Dr. Wilbur Amand, executive director Contact: Dr. William Amand, executive director, AAZV, 6 North Pennell Rd, Media, PA 19063; phone, (610) 892-4812; fax, (610) 892-4813; or e-mail, 75634 [dot] 235atcompuserve [dot] com (75634[dot]235[at]compuserve[dot]com).

AAZV Officers
AAZV officers for 1999-2000: Dr. James Carpenter, immediate past president; Dr. Michael Barrie, president; Dr. Wilbur Amand, executive director; Dr. Scott Citino, president-elect; Dr. Randy Junge, secretary; Dr. Nadine Lamberski treasurer; and Dr. Ray Wack, vice president
Drs. Folwer and Ullrey
Dr. Murray Fowler (left) presents the AAZV Achievement Award to Dr. Duane Ullrey